Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section Air

Annual poor air quality statistics

Poor air quality days

A poor air quality day is defined as a day during which the air quality index is deemed “poor” at one station for at least one hour. An hourly index is deemed “poor” when the average three-hour concentration of PM2.5 is greater than 35 micrograms per cubic meter (µg/m3), or when the hourly ozone concentration is greater than 82 parts per billion (ppb). This indicator takes into account extreme smog days occurring both on a regional scale, and days when poor air quality is observed locally, over a short period of time.

Average number of poor air quality days by administrative region*, 2004–2016

*Based on the occurrence of either a three-hour PM2.5 concentration greater than 35 µg/m3 or an hourly concentration of ozone greater than 82 ppb at a minimum of one station in the region

Weather conditions influence the dispersion of contaminants, which explains the variation in the number of poor air quality days from one year to the next. However, the downward trending observed since 2004 suggests that anthropic factors such as legislation, high-performance antipollution systems and closure of polluting plants are also involved.

In 2016, the number of poor air quality days by administrative region continued its downward trend. Over a five-year period, the number of poor air quality days dropped by 57% overall. The only administrative regions in which results were above the 19.7 day average were Capitale-Nationale, Mauricie, Montréal and Abitibi-Témiscamingue.

Ozone contributed to the formation of only one poor air quality day in 2016.

Number of poor quality air days in 2016 per station*, grouped by administrative region

*Based on the occurrence of either a three-hour PM2.5 concentration greater than 35 µg/m3 or an hourly concentration of ozone greater than 82 ppb at a minimum of one station in the region

The number of poor air quality days per monitoring station makes it possible to determine which stations have the greatest impact on this statistic. The highest results are observed at urban monitoring stations in the Capitale-Nationale, Mauricie, Montréal, Abitibi-Témiscamingue, and Laval regions, which can be explained by a higher density of emissions sources in these areas (transportation, residential wood heating and industries). Some stations, like the one in Témiscamingue, stand out for very specific reasons; this particular station is under the influence of emissions from a nearby plant, hence the high number of poor air quality days. Generally speaking, poor air quality days in rural areas are rather rare, sincemonitoring stations are not under the influence of known sources of pollutants.

Début du document

Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section air

Statistiques annuelles des jours de mauvaise qualité de l’air

Jours de mauvaise qualité de l’air

Un jour de mauvaise qualité de l’air est un jour durant lequel la qualité de l’air est « mauvaise » à au moins une station de mesure, et ce, pendant au moins une heure. Un indice horaire est qualifié de « mauvais » lorsque la concentration moyenne des particules fines sur trois heures est plus élevée que 35 microgrammes par mètre cube (µg/m3) ou lorsque la concentration moyenne d'ozone sur une heure est plus élevée que 82 parties par milliard (ppb). Cet indicateur est calculé par région administrative. Il tient à la fois compte des jours de smog intenses survenant à l’échelle régionale et des jours où une mauvaise qualité de l’air est observée localement pendant une courte période.

Nombre moyen annuel de jours de mauvaise qualité de l’air par région administrative*, de 2004 à 2016

* Basé sur l'occurrence quotidienne d'au moins une concentration horaire d'ozone ou de particules fines (moyenne sur trois heures) respectivement plus grande que 82 ppb et 35 µg/m3, dans au moins une station du réseau par région administrative.

En 2016, le nombre moyen de jours de mauvaise qualité de l’air par région administrative poursuit sa baisse. En cinq ans, le nombre de jours de mauvaise qualité de l’air a diminué de 57 %. Seules les régions administratives de la Capitale-Nationale, de la Mauricie, de Montréal et de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue ont obtenu un résultat supérieur à la moyenne de 19,7 jours.

Les conditions météorologiques influencent la dispersion des contaminants, ce qui explique la variation du nombre de jours de mauvaise qualité d’une année à l’autre. Toutefois, l’évolution à la baisse observée depuis 2004 indique que des facteurs anthropiques (législation, systèmes antipollution plus performants, fermeture d’industries polluantes, etc.) sont aussi à l’œuvre.

L’ozone a contribué à la formation d’une seule journée de mauvaise qualité de l’air en 2016.

Nombre de jours de mauvaise qualité de l’air par station*, regroupées par région administrative, en 2016

* Basé sur l'occurrence quotidienne d'au moins une concentration horaire d'ozone ou de particules fines (moyenne sur trois heures) respectivement plus grande que 82 ppb et 35 µg/m3.

Le nombre de jours de mauvaise qualité de l’air par station permet de déterminer quelles stations influencent le plus cette statistique. Les résultats les plus élevés sont observés aux stations urbaines des régions de la Capitale-Nationale, de la Mauricie, de Montréal, de l’Abitibi- Témiscamingue et de Laval. Cette situation s’explique par la plus grande densité de sources d’émissions polluantes (transport, chauffage au bois et industrie) en milieu urbain. Certaines stations se démarquent pour des raisons bien précises, telles que la station de Témiscamingue. À cet endroit, la station est directement influencée par les émissions d’une industrie située à proximité, d’où le nombre élevé de jours de mauvaise qualité de l’air. En milieu rural, les jours de mauvaise qualité de l’air sont généralement plus rares, car les stations sont installées loin des sources de pollution.

Début du document