Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section changements climatiques

The Carbon Market

Types of Participants in the GHG Emission Allowance
Cap-and-Trade System (C&T system)

C&T system procedures and activities encompass three types of participants (referred to as “entities” in the CITSS system):

Emitter (mandatory)

In Québec, an emitter is any individual or municipality:

  • Operating as a business in an activity sector subject to the Regulation respecting a cap-and-trade system for greenhouse gas emission allowances that declares, for its business or an establishment of the same, in accordance with the Regulation respecting mandatory reporting of certain emissions of contaminants (Mandatory Reporting Regulation), annual GHG emissions in an amount equal to or greater than 25,000 metric tons of CO2 equivalent, excluding emissions referred to in the second paragraph of Section 6.6 of the Mandatory Reporting Regulation;
  • Acquires electricity generated outside Québec, except electricity produced in the territory of a partner entity, for its own consumption or for sale in Québec, if the greenhouse gas emissions attributable to the generation of the quantity of electricity acquired, calculated in accordance with the Mandatory Reporting Regulation, are equal to or exceed 25,000 metric tonnes CO2 equivalent
  • Distributes 200 litres or more of fuel within the meaning of protocol QC.30 of Schedule A.2 to the Regulation respecting mandatory reporting of certain emissions of contaminants into the atmosphere.

All emitters must open accounts in the CITSS system in order to fulfill their obligation to conform under the regulation.

Participant – Legal entity (voluntary)

A participating legal entity is an organization (a corporation or municipality) that wishes to voluntarily purchase, hold, sell, transfer, or withdraw emission allowances, but which is not obliged to do so under the regulation. In other words, the participating legal entity is not an emitter subject to regulation.

Legal entities wishing to participate in the aforementioned activities must also open accounts in the CITSS system.

Participant – Natural person (voluntary)

A participating natural person is an individual (natural person) who wishes to voluntarily purchase, hold, sell, transfer, or withdraw emission allowances, but is not obliged to do so under the regulation. In other words, the participating natural person is not an emitter subject to regulation.

Individuals wishing to participate in the aforementioned activities must also open accounts in the CITSS system.

Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section air

Types de participants au système de plafonnement et d’échange de droits d’émission de gaz à effet de serre (SPEDE)

Trois types de participants (appelés « entités » dans le système CITSS) sont considérés dans l’ensemble des processus et activités du SPEDE :

Émetteur (obligatoire)

Au Québec, un émetteur est toute personne ou municipalité qui exploite une entreprise :

  • Dans un secteur d’activité visé par le Règlement concernant le système de plafonnement et d’échange de droits d’émission de gaz à effet de serre et qui déclare, pour un établissement ou, le cas échéant, pour l’entreprise, conformément au Règlement sur la déclaration obligatoire de certaines émissions de contaminants dans l’atmosphère (RDOCECA), des émissions annuelles de GES d’une quantité égale ou supérieure à 25 000 tonnes métriques en équivalent CO2, en excluant les émissions visées par le deuxième alinéa de l’article 6.6 du RDOCECA;
  • Qui acquiert de l’électricité produite à l’extérieur du Québec, à l’exception de l’électricité produite sur le territoire d’une entité partenaire, pour sa propre consommation ou aux fins de vente au Québec, et dont les émissions de GES attribuables à la production de la quantité d’électricité acquise, calculées conformément au RDOCECA, atteignent ou excèdent 25 000 tonnes métriques en équivalent CO2;
  • Qui distribue 200 litres ou plus de carburants et de combustibles au sens du protocole QC.30 de l’annexe A.2 du RDOCECA.

Tous les émetteurs doivent ouvrir un ensemble de comptes dans le système CITSS en vue de remplir l’obligation de conformité qui leur incombe en vertu du Règlement.

Participant – Personne morale (volontaire)

Un participant personne morale est une organisation (personne morale ou municipalité) qui entend acheter, détenir, vendre, transférer ou volontairement retirer des droits d’émission, mais qui n’est pas tenu de le faire en vertu du Règlement. Autrement dit, le participant personne morale n’est pas un émetteur assujetti au Règlement.

Pour réaliser les activités précédentes, un participant personne morale doit aussi ouvrir un compte dans le système.

Participant – Personne physique (volontaire)

Un participant personne physique est un particulier (personne physique) qui entend acheter, détenir, vendre, transférer ou volontairement retirer des droits d’émission, mais qui n’est pas tenu de le faire en vertu du Règlement. Autrement dit, le participant personne physique n’est pas un émetteur assujetti au Règlement.

Pour réaliser les activités précédentes, un participant personne physique doit aussi ouvrir un compte dans le système.