Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section changements climatiques

The Carbon Market

Adapting offset credit protocols for Québec and Ontario


General description and deliverables

The steps currently being taken will allow for adapting offset credit protocols resulting from the regulated market or the voluntary market in such sectors of activity as agriculture, forestry and residual materials. Therefore, the protocols will meet the requirements of the Western Climate Initiative (WCI) as well as the specificities of Québec and Ontario and, insofar as possible, will be able to be applied across Canada.

Thirteen high-quality offset credit protocols will eventually be made available to project promoters, mainly in Québec and Ontario. The protocols will foster the issue of offset credits and will thereby support the implementation of the carbon market in Québec, Ontario and California.

Back to top

Québec–Ontario collaboration

Based on a partnership between the two governments, the process is headed by Ontario in close collaboration with Québec. Consequently, Québec has specifically undertaken to:

  • Provide Ontario with the expertise and active participation of its professionals within the committees formed under the project;
  • Pay Ontario a financial contribution corresponding to half of the costs it incurs, up to a maximum of $350,000, in certain phases of the project involving protocols in sectors where Québec does not already have protocols.

Consult the Contribution Agreement concluded for this purpose.

Back to top

Types of projects

The activity sectors for which Québec already has offset credit protocols in force are given priority. Therefore, for Québec, this involves assessing these protocols on an accelerated basis with a view to adapting and including them in Ontario’s regulation:

  1. Mine Methane Capture and Destruction Protocol
  2. Landfill Gas Capture and Destruction Protocol
  3. Ozone Depleting Substances Capture and Destruction Protocol

For the other types of projects listed below, an existing offset credit protocol will be adapted:

  1. N2O Emission Reductions from Fertilizer Management in Agriculture Protocol
  2. Emission Reduction from Livestock Protocol
  3. Organic Waste Digestion Protocol
  4. Organic Waste Management Protocol
  5. Forest Protocol
  6. Afforestation Protocol
  7. Urban Forest Project Protocol
  8. Grassland Protocol
  9. Conservation Cropping Protocol
  10. Refrigeration System Protocol

Back to top

Work method

Following a public call for tenders, Ontario retained the services of Climate Action Reserve (CAR) as its consultant on offset credit protocol adaptation. To carry out this mandate, the organization formed a team composed of Canadian firms, including the Québec company ÉcoRessources. CAR will work under the supervision of Ontario (which will serve as the project leader) and Québec.

A working group is established for each protocol to be adapted to guide CAR’s work. The working groups are coordinated by representatives of the organization and are composed of Ontario and Québec ministry representatives as well as external experts.

The basic work phases are as follows:

  • Detailed research and review of existing protocols;
  • Making recommendations on the protocol selected for adaptation;
  • Preparation and drafting of an adapted protocol project;
  • The opportunity for stakeholders and the public to provide feedback during the project’s various phases;
  • Preparation of the final draft for each protocol and submission of these protocol drafts to Québec and Ontario, which will consider them in the final stage of their regulatory amendment process.

Back to top

Engagement of stakeholders and the public

Transparency is an important aspect of the project. The engagement of stakeholders and the public is also important since they can make a broad and diverse contribution to adapting protocols and thereby improve their quality.

Stakeholders may be other ministry representatives of Québec, Ontario, or other provinces, project promoters, verifiers, legal experts, First Nations representatives, industry representatives, and representatives of other target groups.

The public and stakeholders have simultaneous access to the documents on which comments may be made. Protocol projects and other documents prepared in conjunction with projects are available on the CAR website.

Back to top

Timeline

At this point, the technical version adapted within the framework of this project has been completed for two protocols — the Mine Methane Capture and Destruction Protocol and the Landfill Gas Capture and Destruction Protocol. The other protocols are expected to be completed in 2018.

Further information

Two webinars presenting the project’s kick-off were held on December 21, 2016 and January 11, 2017. Consult the presentation: Adapting Offset Protocols for Ontario, Québec, and Other Jurisdictions (PDF, 229 KB).

Back to Carbon Market

Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section air

Marché du carbone

Adaptation de protocoles de crédits compensatoires au Québec et en Ontario


Description générale et livrables

La démarche en cours permettra d’adapter des protocoles de crédits compensatoires issus du marché réglementé ou du marché volontaire à différents secteurs d’activité, tels que l’agriculture, la forêt et les matières résiduelles. Ainsi, les protocoles répondront aux exigences de la Western Climate Initiative (WCI) et aux spécificités du Québec et de l’Ontario et pourront s’appliquer, dans la mesure du possible, partout au Canada.

Treize protocoles de crédits compensatoires de grande qualité seront éventuellement mis à la disposition des promoteurs de projets, principalement au Québec et en Ontario. Ces protocoles favoriseront la délivrance de crédits compensatoires et soutiendront, ainsi, la mise en œuvre du marché du carbone au Québec, en Ontario et en Californie.

Retour en haut

Collaboration Québec–Ontario

Reposant sur un partenariat entre les deux gouvernements, cette démarche est menée par l’Ontario, en étroite collaboration avec le Québec. À cet effet, le Québec s’est notamment engagé à :

  • Fournir à l'Ontario l'expertise de ses professionnels dans les comités établis dans le cadre du projet;
  • Verser à l'Ontario une contribution financière correspondant à la moitié des frais engagés dans certaines phases du projet portant sur les protocoles dans les secteurs où le Québec n'en possède pas déjà, et ce, jusqu'à un montant maximal de 350 000 $.

Consultez l’accord de contribution conclu à cet effet.

Retour en haut

Types de projets

Les secteurs d’activité pour lesquels le Québec dispose déjà de protocoles de crédits compensatoires en vigueur sont priorisés. Pour le Québec, il s’agit donc d’évaluer ces protocoles de façon accélérée en vue de leur adaptation et de leur inclusion à la réglementation ontarienne :

  1. Protocole de captage et d’élimination du méthane des mines
  2. Protocole de captage et d’élimination des gaz d’enfouissement
  3. Protocole de captage et d’élimination des substances appauvrissant la couche d’ozone

Pour les autres types de projets mentionnés ci-dessous, un protocole de crédits compensatoires existant sera adapté :

  1. Protocole de réduction des émissions de N2O imputables à la gestion des engrais agricole
  2. Protocole de réduction des émissions imputables au bétail
  3. Protocole de digestion des déchets organiques
  4. Protocole de gestion des déchets organiques
  5. Protocole visant la séquestration du carbone en milieu forestier
  6. Protocole de boisement
  7. Protocole de gestion des forêts urbaines
  8. Protocole de préservation des prairies indigènes
  9. Protocole de stockage du carbone dans les cultures
  10. Protocole de conversion des systèmes de réfrigération

Retour en haut

Approche de travail

Au terme d’un processus d’appel d’offres public, l’Ontario a retenu les services de Climate Action Reserve (CAR) pour lui fournir des services d’experts-conseils concernant l’adaptation des protocoles de crédits compensatoires. Pour réaliser ce mandat, l’organisation a formé une équipe qui compte des firmes canadiennes, dont ÉcoRessources, une entreprise québécoise. CAR travaillera sous la supervision de l’Ontario, qui agira à titre de chargé de projet, et du Québec.

Pour chacun des protocoles à adapter, un groupe de travail est mis sur pied pour guider le travail de CAR. Les groupes de travail, coordonnés par des représentants de l’organisation, sont composés de représentants ministériels de l’Ontario et du Québec ainsi que d’experts externes.

Les principales étapes de travail sont les suivantes :

  • La recherche et la revue détaillée de protocoles existants;
  • La formulation de recommandations sur le protocole retenu pour l’adaptation;
  • La préparation et la rédaction d’un projet de protocole adapté;
  • La possibilité pour les parties prenantes et le public de fournir des commentaires lors des différentes étapes du projet;
  • La préparation du projet final de chaque protocole et la remise de ces projets de prococoles au Québec et à l’Ontario, qui les considéreront à l’étape finale de leur processus de modification réglementaire.

Retour en haut

Contribution des parties prenantes et du public

La transparence et la contribution des parties prenantes et du public sont des éléments importants du projet. Ceux-ci peuvent apporter une contribution riche et diversifiée dans l’adaptation des protocoles, améliorant ainsi leur qualité.

Les parties prenantes peuvent être d'autres représentants ministériels du Québec, de l’Ontario ou d’autres provinces, des promoteurs de projets, des vérificateurs, des experts juridiques, des représentants des Premières Nations, des représentants de l'industrie et des représentants d'autres groupes cibles potentiels.

Les documents sur lesquels des commentaires peuvent être formulés sont accessibles au public au même moment qu’aux parties prenantes. Des projets de protocoles et d’autres documents préparés dans le cadre du projet sont disponibles sur le site de CAR (site en anglais).

Retour en haut

Échéancier

Jusqu’à maintenant, la version technique adaptée dans le cadre de ce projet est achevée pour deux protocoles, soit le Protocole de captage et d’élimination du méthane des mines et le Protocole de captage et d’élimination des gaz d’enfouissement. Les autres protocoles devraient être achevés en 2018.

Autre information

Deux webinaires présentant le démarrage du projet ont été tenus le 21 décembre 2016 et le 11 janvier 2017. Consultez la présentation L’adaptation de protocoles de crédits compensatoires à l’intention de l’Ontario, du Québecet d’autres territoires (PDF, 229 ko).

Retour à la page Marché du carbone