Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section changements climatiques

The Carbon Market

Emission allowance transfers

Summary of 2016 transactions (PDF, 47 KB)

CITSS 3 : Conducting emission allowance transfers in the CITSS system (French, PDF, 1,4 Mo)

Documentation

Frequently asked questions

User Support

The CITSS (Compliance Instrument Tracking System Service) is a cap-and-trade tool for managing and monitoring accounts and emission allowances, (emission units, offset credits and early reduction credits) issued under the cap-and-trade system for greenhouse gas emission allowances (C&T System).

The system has many functions: issuance of emission allowances by the government, recording the ownership of emission allowances and account information, performing and recording emission allowance transfers, facilitating the verification of compliance and monitoring the market through the collection of useful information.

CITSS system accounts

All emitters subject to the C&T system and participants have accounts that vary in quantity and type depending on the nature of the organization in question. Emitters have a compliance account and a general account, while voluntary participants (natural persons and legal entities) only have a general account. CITSS system administrators have several accounts for administering the issuance, allocation, and auction sale of emission units, as well as the reserve, the environmental integrity of the system, the invalidation of offset credits and the surrender and retirement of emission allowances in the CITSS system on behalf of the Minister.

Examples of transfers

Under the cap-and-trade system, an emitter or participant will need to perform one or more of the following transfers:

  1. Transfer between two emitters or participants (from the general account of an emitter or participant to the general account of another emitter or participant);
  2. Transfer between an emitter’s accounts (from the emitter’s general account to its compliance account);
  3. Transfer between an emitter or participant and the Minister (from a general account to a government account).
     
For additional information, consult the CITSS user guide, Volume 3: Conducting emission allowance transfers in the CITSS system (French, PDF, 1,4 Mo)

Back to The Carbon Market

Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section air

Marché du carbone

Transferts de droits d’émission

Sommaire des transactions 2014 (PDF, 242 ko)

Guide CITSS 3 : Réalisation de transferts de droits d’émission dans le système CITSS (PDF, 1,3 Mo)

Documentation

Foires aux questions

Soutien aux utilisateurs

Le système de suivi des droits d’émission CITSS (Compliance Instrument Tracking System Service) est un outil de gestion et de suivi des comptes et des droits d’émission, des unités d’émission, des crédits compensatoires et des crédits pour réduction hâtive délivrés dans le cadre du SPEDE.

Ce système a de multiples fonctions : permettre la délivrance des unités d’émission par le gouvernement, enregistrer la propriété de droits d’émission et les renseignements relatifs aux comptes, effectuer et enregistrer les transferts de droits d’émission, faciliter la vérification de la conformité et surveiller le marché grâce à la collecte de renseignements utiles.

Les comptes dans le système CITSS

Chaque émetteur ou participant dispose de comptes dont le numéro et le type varient en fonction de la nature de l’organisme concerné. Les émetteurs possèdent un compte de conformité et un compte général, alors que les participants volontaires (participants personne physique ou personne morale) ne disposent que d’un compte général. De leur côté, les administrateurs du système CITSS possèdent plusieurs comptes destinés à gérer la délivrance, l’attribution, la remise et le retrait de droits d’émission dans le système CITSS au nom du ministre.

Exemples de transferts

Dans le cadre du SPEDE, un émetteur ou un participant devra effectuer un ou plusieurs des transferts suivants :

  1. Transfert entre deux émetteurs ou participants (du compte général d’un émetteur ou participant vers le compte général d’un autre émetteur ou participant);
  2. Transfert entre les comptes d’un émetteur (de son compte général vers son compte de conformité);

Transfert entre un émetteur ou participant et le ministre (d’un compte général vers un compte gouvernemental).

Pour des renseignements additionnels concernant les transferts de droits d’émission dans le système CITSS, consultez le Guide CITSS – volume 3 : Réalisation de transferts de droits d’émission dans le système CITSS (PDF, 1,3 Mo)

Retour à la page Marché du carbone