Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs
Home Site Map Québec Portal E-Mail Search About the site Français

State of Affairs in Sustainable Development

A Decade of Information and Progress Reports

Under the Sustainable Development Act, a sustainable development progress report must be tabled as part of the strategy’s periodic review process. Although a progress report was not required to draft the first version of the strategy, the strategy is based on, among other things, a series of analyses, executive summaries and reports conducted individually or as a group by specific government departments and agencies.

These studies, opinions and assessments are the thread that led to drafting the issues of each of the strategy’s courses of action. As each of strategy’s nine courses of action were introduced, simulations were presented to reveal situations that provide an understanding of the efforts involved and an assessment of the challenges that await Québec in its sustainable development approach.

The principal studies that laid the groundwork for development of the strategy are discussed in this section.


The Elements of Québec’s Sustainable Development Plan
(French, PDF file, 441 ko)

In 1995, the Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Faune produced a document entitled The Elements of Québec’s Sustainable Development Plan. This document outlines which past and current decisions and initiatives can help sustainable development become deeply rooted in society. This document details the Ministère’s administrative organization for sustainable development and the government’s sustainable development initiatives through programs, plans, financial decisions, laws, policies, strategies and agencies that have been implemented. The document examines the following:

  • the Ministère’s policy strategies (Environnemental heading);

  • Québec’s conservation strategy;

  • the work of the environment and economy advisory panel;

  • the 1992 Earth Summit held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil;

  • Québec’s Action Plan to implement the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change;

  • Québec’s strategy and plan to implement the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity;

  • implementation of Action 21;

  • the project for a Sustainable Development Charter.

Implementing Action 21 – Examples of Sustainable Development Initiatives in Québec
(French, PDF file, 7,6 Mo)

In 1996, the Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Faune published a document entitled Implementing Action 21 – Examples of Sustainable Development Initiatives in Québec. This document focuses on seven issues:

  • the quality of life on Earth;

  • effective use of natural resources;

  • protection of shared global resources;

  • control of waste and chemicals;

  • sustainable economic development;

  • strengthening partnerships;

  • implementing Action 21.

The track record of government initiatives on each issue is reviewed. At the end of each topic, trends are examined and new initiatives are proposed for the years to come in an effort to further the sustainable development agenda.

Innovation and Sustainable Development: Tomorrow’s Economy
(French, PDF file, 575 ko)

In 2001, the Conseil de la science et de la technologie published the document entitled Innovation and Sustainable Development: Tomorrow’s Economy. This analysis diagnosed the status of Québec’s sustainable development situation on the basis of training, research and innovation. Il outlines Québec’s sustainable development situation in terms of government departmental strategies, regulatory systems, economic instruments and voluntary initiatives, with a focus on innovation. The document also addresses sustainable development in management, coordination, evaluation and public accountability procedures.

Québec Report on Sustainable Development
(French, PDF file, 1,2 Mo)

In 2002, the government of Québec took part in the World Summit on Sustainable Development in Johannesburg with a ten-year track record of sustainable development initiatives in Québec, more specifically the public administration’s achievements. The Québec Report on Sustainable Development highlights seven issues:

  • native peoples;

  • changing non-sustainable consumption and production practices;

  • protecting and managing the natural resources necessary for economic and social development;

  • health care and sustainable development;

  • better adapted prevention initiatives;

  • sustainable development in a globalized world;

  • implementation of sustainable development.

This document discusses a range of issues that serve as the basis of drafting progress reports and determining which courses of actions to follow, with emphasis on what has yet to be accomplished. The report goes on to discuss at length the challenges that lay ahead.

Sustainable Development in Québec
(French, PDF file, 2,4 Mo)

In June 2004, the report issued by Québec’s Auditor General, which includes a chapter entitled Sustainable Development in Québec, examines the monitoring of sustainable development within the government of Québec and the organizational and structural changes needed for better interpretation of the concept, government department initiatives, greater awareness among public sector employees and accountability based on defined objectives and targets. The report suggests raising Québec’s profile.

Québec’s Sustainable Development Plan – Information Report
(French, PDF file, 1,3 Mo)

In February 2005, the interdepartmental committee on sustainable development prepared an information report on sustainable development in Québec, entitled Québec’s Sustainable Development Plan – Information Report. This profile discusses issues including quality of life, public concerns, specialists, decision-makers and sustainable development within the government of Québec. It focuses in particular on the following areas: territory, climate, forests, mines, air, water, farmland, biodiversity, population, territorial organization, demographics, language, culture, family, consumption, education system, health care system, security, democracy, pluralism, Québec’s economic profile, personal income, employment, international exchanges, government finances, new economy, social economy and energy.

Each issue is subsequently examined to identify trends, assess the situation and determine challenges.


Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail gouvernemental A propos du site Recherche English

État des lieux en développement durable

Une décennie de rapports et d'états de situation 1995-2005

La Loi sur le développement durable prévoit qu’un état de situation du développement durable au Québec sera présenté à l’occasion des révisions périodiques de la stratégie. Bien qu’un tel état de situation n’était pas requis pour élaborer la première version de la stratégie, celle-ci repose entre autres sur plusieurs analyses, synthèses et rapports réalisés par certains ou l’ensemble des ministères et de certains organismes.

Ces études, avis et évaluations constituent le fil conducteur qui a permis d’élaborer les problématiques de chacune des orientations de la stratégie. Ils ont permis de rendre compte, de façon synthétique dans l’introduction de chacune des neuf orientations de la présente stratégie, de situations permettant d’apprécier les pas franchis et de mesurer les défis qui attendent le Québec dans sa démarche de développement durable.

Les principales études ayant alimenté les travaux d’élaboration de la Stratégie sont accessibles dans cette section.


Élément de planification québécoise du développement durable
(format PDF, 441 ko)

En 1995, le ministère de l’Environnement et de la Faune a produit le document « Élément de planification québécoise du développement durable »  qui fait état de décisions et d’actions réalisées ou en cours permettant de bien enraciner les principes de développement durable dans la société. Ce document expose l’organisation administrative du développement durable du ministère et les actions en développement durable au gouvernement au travers de programmes, de plans, de décisions financières, de lois, de politiques, de stratégies et d’organismes mis en place ainsi que d’initiatives non gouvernementales. On y traite :

  • des orientations stratégiques du Ministère (Cap environnemental);

  • de la Stratégie québécoise de conservation;

  • des travaux de la Table ronde sur l’environnement et l’économie;

  • du Sommet de la Terre tenu à Rio de Janeiro au Brésil en 1992;

  • du Plan d’action du Québec pour la mise en œuvre de la Convention-Cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques;

  • de la Stratégie québécoise et du plan de mise en œuvre de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique;

  • de la mise en œuvre d’Action 21;

  • d’un projet de Charte du développement durable.

Mise en œuvre d’Action 21 – exemples d’initiatives du Québec en matière de développement durable
(format PDF, 7,6 Mo)

En 1996, le ministère de l’Environnement et de la Faune publie « Mise en œuvre d’Action 21 – exemples d’initiatives du Québec en matière de développement durable ». Sept thèmes y sont abordés :

  • la qualité de vie sur terre;

  • l’utilisation efficace des ressources naturelles;

  • la protection des ressources globales communes;

  • la gestion des produits chimiques et des déchets;

  • le développement économique durable;

  • le renforcement du partenariat;

  • la mise en œuvre d’Action 21.

Pour chaque thème, un bilan des actions gouvernementales est passé en revue. À la fin de chaque thématique un examen des tendances est effectué avec de nouvelles actions à mettre de l’avant pour les années à venir afin d’accentuer la démarche de développement durable.

Innovation et développement durable : l’économie de demain
(format PDF, 575 ko)

En 2001, le Conseil de la science et de la technologie publie « Innovation et développement durable : l’économie de demain ». Cet avis établit un diagnostic de l’état de situation au Québec en matière de développement durable sous l’angle de la formation, de la recherche et de l’innovation. Il dresse la situation du Québec en terme de stratégies ministérielles, d’outils réglementaires, d’instruments économiques et de mesures volontaires relatives au développement durable misant l’innovation. Il en est de même pour les mécanismes de gestion, de coordination, d’évaluation et de reddition de comptes de l’administration publique en matière de développement durable.

Rapport du Québec sur le développement durable
(format PDF, 1,2 Mo)

En 2002, le gouvernement du Québec se présente au Sommet mondial sur le développement durable tenu à Johannesburg avec un bilan couvrant dix années d’intervention en développement durable au Québec et plus particulièrement des réalisations de l’administration publique. Le « Rapport du Québec sur le développement durable » aborde sept thématiques :

  • Les nations autochtones;

  • Changer les modes non durables de consommation et de production;

  • Protéger et gérer les ressources naturelles nécessaires au développement économique et social;

  • La santé et le développement durable;

  • Une prévention mieux adaptée;

  • Le développement durable dans un monde globalisé;

  • La mise en œuvre du développement durable.

Plusieurs questions y sont traitées de manière à dresser des états de situation, à indiquer des pistes à suivre tout en mettant l’accent sur ce qui reste à faire. Le rapport fait état, tout au long du texte, des défis à surmonter.

Le développement durable du Québec
(format PDF, 2,4 Mo)

En juin 2004, le rapport du Vérificateur général du Québec, qui inclut le chapitre « Le développement durable du Québec », examine l’encadrement du développement durable au gouvernement du Québec et les changements organisationnels et structurels nécessaires à une meilleure interprétation du concept, aux actions des ministères, à une plus grande sensibilisation du personnel et à une reddition de comptes basée sur des objectifs et des cibles à atteindre. Le rapport suggère de parachever le portrait du Québec.

Plan de développement durable pour le Québec – Document d’information
(format PDF, 1,3 Mo)

En février 2005, le Comité interministériel du développement durable prépare un rapport d’information sur le développement durable au Québec intitulé « Plan de développement durable pour le Québec – Document d’information ». Ce portrait couvre les thématiques de la qualité de vie, des préoccupations de la société civile, des spécialistes et des décideurs, et du développement durable au gouvernement du Québec notamment sous l’aspect du territoire, du climat, des forêts, des mines, de l’air, de l’eau, des terres agricoles, de la biodiversité, de la population, de l’organisation du territoire, de la démographie, de la langue et de la culture, de la famille, de la consommation, du système éducatif, du système de santé, de la sécurité, de la démocratie et du pluralisme, du profil économique du Québec, du revenu personnel, du travail, des échanges internationaux, des finances, de la nouvelle économie, de l’économie sociale et de l’énergie.

L’ensemble des sujets sont alors décrits afin d’en dégager des tendances, d’établir un bilan ou d’en préciser les défis.


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2017