Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs
Home Site Map Québec Portal E-Mail Search About the site Français

Qualification of operators of municipal treatment works

Useful information

The Regulation respecting municipal wastewater treatment works has been in force since January 2014. It applies to municipal wastewater treatment works situated south of the 54th degree north latitude and whose average annual flow rate is greater than 10 m3 per day. The regulation contains various obligations, including one concerning the qualification of operators.

A certificate will be required beginning in January 2017

Section 10 of the Regulation specifies that the operation and monitoring of a treatment plant must be carried out by a person who holds a valid qualification certificate in matters of operations of wastewater treatment works. This certificate must correspond to the category of the treatment plant where that person works. This requirement comes into force on January 1, 2017.

The qualification certificate is a document issued by the Minister of Labour, Employment and Social Solidarity (Emploi-Québec) under the Wastewater Operator Qualification Program. It certifies that the person to whom it was issued has participated in and successfully completed the qualification program corresponding to the treatment plant category indicated on the certificate. The certificate authorizes the holder to carry out, in plants of this category, operation, monitoring and samplings tasks required by the Regulation. The qualification certificate is renewable every five years. Renewal conditions apply.

Measuring the flow rate, which is part of the plant’s monitoring, must also be carried out by a certified person.

Some tasks are not affected

Personnel assigned to operating the sewer system and employees assigned to tasks that do not contribute directly to operating the treatment plant’s liquid processing chain are not affected by this regulatory provision. Therefore, personnel assigned to sludge dehydration at a treatment plant, for example, or personnel assigned solely to equipment maintenance or repair, are not required to hold a qualification certificate.

Three distinct categories of facilities

The three treatment plant categories provided for under the qualification program have been established based on the complexity of operations. Each category contains different qualification requirements and renewal conditions. The three categories are as follows:

  • Category A covers mechanical plants and aerated lagoons with an average flow rate greater than 50,000 m3 per day;
  • Category B covers lagoon type plants with an average flow rate less than 50,000 m3 per day;
  • Category C covers plants that use technology requiring little intervention.

The following table presents a non-exhaustive list of technologies covered by each category:

Wastewater treatment plant category Wastewater treatment technologies included in the category
Category A :
Wastewater treatment by mechanical plant
  • Rotating biological contactors
  • Biofiltration (all types)
  • Bio-fosse MN
  • Biotowers (all types)
  • Activated sludge (all types)
  • Rapid oxidation with polishing
  • Chemical-physical
  • Moving bed biological reactor (all types)
  • Membrane biological reactor (all types).
  • Aerated lagoons with average flow greater than 50,000 m3/d
Category B :
Wastewater treatment by aerated lagoons
  • Aerated lagoons with average flow lower than 50,000 m3/d
  • Non aerated lagoons
Category C :
Wastewater treatment by specific technology
  • BionestConstructed
  • Constructed wetland (all types)
  • Intermittent recirculation filter
  • Peat filter
  • Sub-category (RIT-ISF-ST)
    • Rapid infiltration trench (RIT)
    • Intermittent buried sand filter (ISF)
    • Septic tank (ST)

In category C, each certificate identifies the type of technology used at the plant where the certificate holder may work. RIT, ISF and ST technology is grouped into a single sub-category. Operators who are certified for this sub-category may work with any of these three types of technology. Operators who are certified for another type of category C technology may also work with these three types of technology.

For additional clarification

For more information on the qualification program, contact:

Emploi-Québec
Centre administratif de la qualification professionnelle
1-866-393-0067
Web site

If you have questions concerning the Regulation respecting municipal wastewater treatment works, do not hesitate to contact your MDDELCC regional office.

Back to Regulation respecting municipal wastewater treatment works


Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail gouvernemental A propos du site Recherche English

Qualification des opérateurs de stations d’épuration municipales

Pour plus d’informations

Le Règlement sur les ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées est en vigueur depuis janvier 2014. Il s’applique aux ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées situés au sud du 54e degré de latitude nord et dont le débit moyen annuel est supérieur à 10 m3/jour. Il contient différentes obligations, dont l’une concerne la qualification des opérateurs.

Un certificat requis à compter du mois de janvier 2017

L’article 10 du Règlement spécifie que l’opération et le suivi du fonctionnement d'une station d’épuration doivent être exécutés par une personne titulaire d’un certificat de qualification valide en matière d'opération d'ouvrages d'assainissement des eaux usées. Celui-ci doit correspondre à la catégorie de station dans laquelle elle travaille. Cette exigence entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017.

Le certificat de qualification est un document délivré par le ministre du Travail, de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale (Emploi-Québec) dans le cadre du Programme de qualification des opérateurs en eaux usées. Il certifie que la personne à qui il a été délivré a suivi et réussi le programme de qualification correspondant à la catégorie de station d’épuration qui y est indiquée. Ce certificat l’autorise à effectuer, dans les stations de cette catégorie, l’opération, le suivi et les prélèvements prévus par le Règlement. Le certificat de qualification est renouvelable aux cinq ans et des conditions de renouvellement s’appliquent.

La mesure du débit, qui fait partie du suivi du fonctionnement de la station, doit aussi être effectuée par une personne certifiée.

Certaines tâches non visées

Le personnel affecté à l’opération du réseau d’égout et les employés affectés à des tâches qui ne contribuent pas directement à l’opération de la chaîne liquide de traitement de la station d’épuration ne sont pas visés par cette disposition réglementaire. Ainsi, le personnel affecté à la déshydratation des boues d’une station d’épuration, par exemple, ou le personnel affecté uniquement à l’entretien ou à la réparation des équipements, n’est pas tenu d’être titulaire d’un certificat de qualification.

Trois catégories d’installations à distinguer

Les trois catégories de stations d’épuration prévues dans le cadre du programme de qualification ont été établies en fonction de la complexité d’opération. Chaque catégorie comporte des exigences de qualification différentes et des conditions de renouvellement. Les trois catégories sont les suivantes :

  • La catégorie A regroupe les stations mécanisées et les étangs aérés dont le débit moyen est supérieur à 50 000 m3/jour;
  • La catégorie B regroupe les stations de types étangs dont le débit moyen est inférieur à 50 000 m3/jour;
  • La catégorie C regroupe les stations qui utilisent des technologies qui nécessitent peu d’interventions.

Le tableau suivant présente une liste, non exhaustive, des technologies de traitement qu’on retrouve dans chacune des catégories :

Catégorie de station d’épuration Technologies de traitement incluses dans la catégorie
Catégorie A :
Traitement des eaux usées par station mécanisée
  •  Disques biologiques et autres réacteurs biologiques rotatifs
  • Biofiltration (tous les types)
  • Bio-fosse MN
  • Biotour (tous les types)
  • Boues activées (tous les types)
  • Oxydation rapide avec polissage
  • Physico-chimique
  • Réacteur biologique à garnissage en suspension (tous les types)
  • Réacteur biologique membranaire (tous les types)
  • Étangs aérés avec débit moyen supérieur à 50 000 m3/jour
Catégorie B :
Traitement des eaux usées par étang aéré
  • Étangs aérés avec débit moyen inférieur à 50 000 m3/jour
  • Étangs non aérés
Catégorie C :
Traitement des eaux usées par technologie spécifique
  • Bionest
  • Marais artificiel (tous les types)
  • Filtre intermittent à recirculation
  • Filtre à tourbe
  • Sous-catégorie (FAIR-FIE-FS)
    • Fossé à infiltration rapide (FAIR)
    • Filtre intermittent enfoui (FIE)
    • Fosse septique (FS)


Dans la catégorie C, chaque certificat identifie le type de technologie de la station où le titulaire peut travailler. Les technologies FAIR, FIE et FS sont regroupées dans une même sous-catégorie. Les opérateurs certifiés pour cette sous-catégorie peuvent travailler avec n’importe lequel de ces trois types de technologies. Les opérateurs certifiés pour un autre type de technologie de niveau C peuvent aussi travailler avec ces trois types de technologies.

Pour des précisions supplémentaires

Pour plus de détails sur le programme de qualification, adressez-vous à :

Emploi-Québec
Centre administratif de la qualification professionnelle
1-866-393-0067
Site Web

Pour toute question concernant le Règlement sur les ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec votre bureau régional du Ministère

Retour à la page Règlement sur les ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2017