Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs
Home Site Map Québec Portal E-Mail Search About the site Français

Regulation respecting municipal wastewater treatment works

For more information

The Regulation respecting municipal wastewater treatment works will make it possible to continue municipal wastewater treatment efforts that have been underway since 1978 to provide the Québec population with healthy waterways. It paves the way for carrying out major work to modernize wastewater treatment facilities across Québec.

Context

The Regulation is pursuant to the endorsement of the Canada-wide Strategy for the Management of Municipal Wastewater Effluent by the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment.

The Regulation:

  • Defines the content of the depollution attestations that municipalities will need to obtain for each of their wastewater treatment works;
  • Incorporates the general requirements of the Canada-wide Strategy;
  • Provides an opportunity to sign a bilateral agreement with the federal government to exempt Québec from enforcing the federal Wastewater Systems Effluent Regulations that also stem from the Canada-wide Strategy. This agreement will be based on Québec’s jurisdiction over municipal affairs and will put an end to the current duplication by ensuring that only the Québec regulation is enforced in Québec.

The Regulation in brief

  • Target clientele: Québec municipalities with sewage treatment works, with the exception of municipalities whose facilities have an average annual flow of less than 10 m3/day or that are located north of the 54th parallel degree of north latitude.
  • Requirements and mechanisms provided for in the regulation: effluent discharge limits and applicable standards for raw sewage overflows, monitoring of discharges and overflows, mandatory certification of treatment plant operators and a depollution attestation renewable every five years for each municipal treatment plant.
  • Upgrading deadline: municipalities that are currently unable to meet the regulation’s discharge standards will have until December 31, 2020, 2030 or 2040 to make their sanitation facilities comply with the new discharge standards, depending on the environmental risk they represent.
  • Anticipated benefits: protection of drinking water sources and aquatic ecosystems, reduction of pollutants and overflow episodes, preservation or recovery of certain recreational uses (e.g., swimming and fishing).

Documentation

 


Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail gouvernemental A propos du site Recherche English

Règlement sur les ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées

Pour plus d’information

Le Règlement sur les ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées permettra de poursuivre les efforts d’assainissement des eaux usées municipales entrepris depuis 1978 afin de redonner à la population québécoise des cours d’eau en santé. Il ouvre la voie à la réalisation d’importants travaux de modernisation des installations d’épuration des eaux usées sur l’ensemble du territoire québécois.

Contexte

Le Règlement s’inscrit par ailleurs dans la foulée de l’adoption de la Stratégie pancanadienne sur la gestion des effluents d’eaux usées municipales du Conseil canadien des ministres de l’Environnement.
 
Le Règlement québécois :

  • Définit le contenu des attestations d’assainissement que les municipalités devront obtenir pour chacun de leurs ouvrages d’assainissement des eaux usées;
  • Incorpore les exigences générales de la Stratégie pancanadienne;
  • Donne l’occasion de conclure un accord bilatéral avec le gouvernement fédéral afin de soustraire le Québec à l’application du règlement fédéral sur les effluents des systèmes d’assainissement des eaux usées qui découle aussi de la Stratégie pancanadienne. Basée sur la compétence du Québec en matière d’affaires municipales, un tel accord permettra de mettre fin aux dédoublements actuels en faisant en sorte que seul le règlement québécois soit appliqué au Québec.

Le Règlement en bref

  • Clientèle visée : les municipalités québécoises détentrices d’ouvrages d’assainissement des eaux usées, à l’exception de celles dont les installations ont un débit moyen annuel inférieur à 10 m3/jour ou qui sont situées au nord du 54e degré de latitude nord.
  • Exigences et mécanismes contenus dans le règlement : normes de rejet à l’effluent et normes applicables aux débordements d’eaux usées brutes, suivi des rejets et des débordements, certification obligatoire des opérateurs de stations d’épuration et attestation d’assainissement renouvelable tous les cinq ans pour chaque station d’épuration municipale.
  • Délai de mise aux normes : les municipalités qui ne sont actuellement pas en mesure de respecter les normes de rejet du règlement auront jusqu’au 31 décembre 2020, 2030 ou 2040 pour rendre leurs installations d’assainissement conformes aux nouvelles normes de rejet, selon le risque environnemental qu’elles représentent.
  • Bienfaits attendus : protection des sources d’eau potable et des écosystèmes aquatiques, réduction des polluants et des épisodes de débordement, préservation ou récupération de certains usages récréatifs (ex. activités de baignade et de pêche).

Documents de soutien

 


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2016