Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs
Home Site Map Québec Portal E-Mail Search About the site Français

The Quality of My Well Water

Water is a resource that is both invaluable and vital. As the owner of an individual well or waterworks system serving less than 21 persons, you are responsible for ensuring its quality with a view to protecting your health and that of your loved ones. In this document, you will find all the information you need to meet this obligation.

Other Document

List of accredited laboratories (French)

The quality of my well water and my responsibilities

Whether water that is intended for consumption comes from a surface well or a cased well (commonly known as an "artesian well"), it must be of good quality and meet the standards set out in the Regulation respecting the quality of drinking water (Q-2, r.40). Under section 3 of the regulation, owners must provide their families and visitors with safe drinking water.

While well water may appear to be clear and pure, and have no specific odor or taste, it may contain elements that can have undesirable effects on health, for example pathogenic micro-organisms (bacteria, viruses, or protozoa) and nitrates/nitrites.

Groundwater, which is generally of better quality than surface water (lakes, rivers, streams) owing to the soil’s natural filtering capacity, may be vulnerable to contamination, and precautions must be taken to ensure a supply of good quality water at all times.

A contamination event can occur sporadically and the only way it can be detected is by analyzing the water. The Ministère therefore recommends that you have your water analyzed by an accredited laboratory:

Additional tests should be performed if you notice sudden changes in the water’s taste, odor, or appearance or if changes have been made to the well or surrounding soil.

Microbiological parameters

  • E. coli bacteria
  • Enterococcal bacteria
  • Total coliform bacteria

Physico-chemical parameters

  • Arsenic
  • Manganese
  • Barium
  • Nitrates-nitrites
  • Chlorides
  • Sodium
  • Iron
  • Sulfates
  • Fluorides
  • Total hardness based on the calcium and magnesium content

Water analysis alone is not enough to guarantee the quality of your drinking water. In addition to the recommended analyses, you must regularly check the condition of your well and septic facilities, examine possible sources of contamination in the well’s environment and make the appropriate corrections.


Microbiological indicators of water quality

The majority of pathogenic micro-organisms (potentially disease-causing viruses, bacteria or protozoa) that are likely to be found in water come from human and animal excrements. As it is technically impossible to analyze all pathogens, we use microbiological indicators that in themselves are harmless: E. coli bacteria, enterococcal bacteria, and total coliform bacteria.

E. coli bacteria are very abundant in the bowel flora of humans and animals, and this is the only species that is strictly fecal in origin. E. coli bacteria are considered to be the best indicator of fecal contamination. Their presence in water means that it has been contaminated by pollution of fecal origin and that it may contain pathogenic microorganisms.

Gastroenteritis is the illness most commonly associated with drinking water contaminated with fecal matter. While this disease is often minor, it may occasionally have very serious consequences on a person’s health. Other rarer diseases such as hepatitis or meningitis may also result from the ingestion of contaminated water. This risk concerns not only the members of a family who drink well water, but also all their visitors.

Enterococcal bacteria are less abundant in the bowel flora of humans and animals than E. coli bacteria, and some species are not of fecal origin. The detection of enterococcal bacteria in well water may indicate fecal contamination or infiltration of surface water. However, it is best to play it safe and consider the presence of enterococcal bacteria as an indicator of fecal contamination.

Total coliforms form a heterogeneous group of bacteria of fecal and environmental origin. Indeed, most of the species may be naturally occurring in the soil and in vegetation. Their presence in water does not generally indicate fecal contamination or a health risk, but rather a deterioration of the bacterial quality of the water. This deterioration may be attributed among other things to the infiltration of surface water in the well, or the gradual growth of a layer of bacteria on the walls, called a biofilm. The analysis of total coliforms makes it possible to obtain information on the potential vulnerability of a well to surface pollution.


Presence of E. coli or enterococcal bacteria in my water

Drinking water must be free of any trace of E. coli or enterococcal bacteria. When either type of bacteria is detected, it is essential that you boil the water for at least one minute before consuming it, obtain drinking water from a public water system, or buy bottled water. You must also use boiled water to make ice cubes, prepare drinks and food for babies, wash food that will be eaten raw, and brush your teeth. You can continue using the well water to shower or bathe (being careful to avoid swallowing it), but you should give children and babies a sponge bath. These recommendations must be followed until subsequent tests show that the water complies with applicable standards.

It is recommended that you determine the source of fecal contamination and take the appropriate remedial measures, if possible. A shock treatment to disinfect the well may be necessary, particularly if the contamination is caused by special circumstances (a thaw, abundant rain, etc.). Since shock treatment can damage water treatment equipment, it is recommended that you disconnect your equipment, if this applies, before starting the procedure.

Take the following steps to disinfect a well:

  1. Clean the well with a net, if possible, to remove foreign objects, deposits, animal or plant material, etc.
  2. Pour bleach into the well according to the quantities mentioned in the following table entitled “Quantity of Bleach Required for Disinfecting a Well.”
  3. Mix the bleach with the well water and, where possible, wash and brush the sides clean. You can also hook up a hose to the nearest tap and rinse the sides of the well to ensure complete mixing of the chlorine and water in the well.
  4. Turn all cold water taps on. When you detect the smell of chlorine, stop the pump and turn the taps off.
  5. Wait 24 hours before turning the water back on.
  6. Purge the system by letting the water run for an extended period of time until the smell of chlorine disappears. Turn all the taps on to rinse the pipes thoroughly. However, it is not necessary to purge your water heater.
  7. Test the water again one week and four weeks after disinfection to find out if the water complies with quality standards.


Presence of total coliforms in my water

The presence of total coliforms makes it even more important to conduct regular tests and take appropriate remedial measures to prevent any eventual fecal contamination. If new tests confirm the presence of total coliforms in concentrations exceeding the standards (above 10 ufc/100 ml), it is recommended that you give the well a shock treatment (disinfection).

Determining the source of contamination

It is important to identify the source of contamination and take appropriate remedial measures to improve the long-term quality of the water. There may be many local sources of contamination:

  • A well in poor condition (cover or sealant are not watertight, deteriorated materials, etc.)
  • Inadequate slope around the well (no mound around the well to keep away surface runoff)
  • Defective septic facilities
  • Unsanitary premises (e.g., manure spreading or other activities generating fecal matter nearby

In such cases, work should be undertaken to correct the situation or bring it to the attention of the person responsible for the source of contamination. Anyone confronted with a contamination problem can get in touch with the appropriate municipal official, who will help find a solution. Additional water tests should be done to check if the measures taken were effective.  

The quality of my well water during a flood

Owners of private wells must take special precautions during floods, as such events can pose serious risks for the quality of groundwater, which can be contaminated by river water or septic facilities nearby. To prevent risk of illnesses related to drinking contaminated water, the Ministère recommends the following measures:

  • During the flood: water from any well in the flooded area should be considered to be unfit for drinking. In such cases, you should obtain drinking water from another source (e.g., a public water system or bottled water) or boil any water intended for drinking or preparing raw food for one minute.
  • After the flood: after the floodwaters have completely subsided, owners should first check the well equipment, especially the electrical circuits. They should then wait a minimum of ten days before disinfecting the well according to the procedure described in a previous section and ensure that the results of both series of recommended water tests are in compliance before drinking the water again.


Quantity of bleach required for disinfect a well

It is recommended that you use 50 mg/l of free chlorine to disinfect an existing well (use 5% fragrance free bleach available in stores). To disinfect a new well, multiply the amount of bleach by five as the recommended concentration is 250 mg/l of free chlorine.

The tables below will help you determine the quantity to use according to the diameter and depth of your well.

Quantity required for a surface well

Surface wells are generally made of superimposed concrete pipes over 600 millimeters in diameter. They are rarely more than 9 meters deep.

Surface Well

Well depth (metres)

Well diameter








Millilitres of bleach


700 ml

1 000 ml

1 300 ml

1 600 ml

2 000 ml

2 300 ml

2 600 ml

1 067

900 ml

1 400 ml

1 800 ml

2 200 ml

2 700 ml

3 100 ml

3 600 ml

1 219

1 200 ml

1 800 ml

2 300 ml

2 900 ml

3 500 ml

4 000 ml

4 700 ml

1 372

1 500 ml

2 200 ml

3 000 ml

3 700 ml

4 400 ml

5 200 ml

5 900 ml

1 524

1 800 ml

2 700 ml

3 700 ml

4 600 ml

5 500 ml

6 400 ml

7 300 ml

1 676

2 200 ml

3 300 ml

4 400 ml

5 500 ml

6 600 ml

7 700 ml

8 800 ml

Quantity required for a cased or artesian well

Cased wells are drilled when the groundwater is deep or the surface is rocky. They are generally made of steel pipe less than 80 millimeters in diameter and over 6 meters long.

Cased or Artesian Well

Well depth (metres)

Well diameter





Millilitres of bleach


30 ml

60 ml

90 ml

120 ml


50 ml

100 ml

150 ml

190 ml


60 ml

140 ml

200 ml

270 ml


90 ml

190 ml

280 ml

400 ml


120 ml

250 ml

370 ml

500 ml


190 ml

380 ml

570 ml

800 ml


270 ml

540 ml

820 ml

1 100 ml

Calculation tool for disinfecting wells

New well Existing well

Well type: Tubular (Artesian)   Surface
Diameter:    Inches Centimetres Millimetres
Depth:     Feet   Metres  

You need to use litres or
  millilitres of 5% Javel water



The main sources of nitrates/nitrites are agricultural fertilizers, manure, household wastewater, and the decomposition of plant and animal organisms. Because they find their way into surface and groundwater through rain and melting snow, infiltration is greatest in the spring and fall.

Presence of nitrates/nitrites in my water

Over 5 mg/l 

A nitrate/nitrite concentration over 5 mg/l in a well generally indicates the influence of agricultural activities and calls for testing of this parameter at least twice a year, as concentrations can increase over time.

Over 10 mg/l 

If the concentration of nitrates/nitrites detected in the water exceeds the standard set out in the Regulation respecting the quality of drinking water, namely 10 mg/l, this water must not be used to prepare food for infants or pregnant women. Wherever possible, the general public must also avoid regularly consuming water whose nitrate/nitrite concentration exceeds the set standard. For more information on the applicable recommendations, those concerned are invited to contact their regional public health office (French).

Identifying the source of contamination

It is important to identify the source of contamination and carry out the necessary work. The contamination may be caused by the spreading of manure or chemical fertilizers near the well, or by nearby septic facilities. You can contact a representative of the regional office of Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs in your area to help you find an appropriate solution.

My water still does not meet the quality standards

If all the aforementioned steps do not resolve the problem, it is still possible to obtain good quality water by installing one or more treatment devices specially designed to eliminate the problems revealed by the test results. Régie du bâtiment du Québec determines the requirements as to the type of treatment devices that can be installed in homes (French). To select the appropriate system, you can contact a firm specializing in water treatment. Products certified according to NSF/ANSI standards are recognized as effective in meeting the quality criteria. It is essential that such treatment systems be installed by a qualified professional, and used and maintained according the manufacturer’s recommendations.


Having my water tested…

To have your well water tested, it is recommended that you call on one of the laboratories accredited by the Ministère. The full list of accredited laboratories is updated regularly on the Ministère website. The laboratory will immediately notify the well owner if the water quality does not meet the established standards.

In addition to analysis of the aforementioned parameters, analysis of other parameters (hydrocarbons, solvents, pesticides, etc.) may be in order if pollution-generating activities are suspected in your area.

Adequate sampling methods are essential to ensure the validity of results. For more details, you can consult the division IV of Regulation respecting the quality of drinking water

It is generally recommended that you report any test results indicating that a chemical standard has been exceeded to the public health office in your area to obtain advice on water intended for human consumption. The contact information of the public health offices is available at the following Web address: http://publications.msss.gouv.qc.ca/acrobat/f/documentation/preventioncontrole/14-268-02W.pdf.

For more information

Contact the Ministère’s information center or the regional office in your area.

Barre de navigation

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail gouvernemental A propos du site Recherche English

La qualité de l’eau de mon puits

Autre document

Liste des laboratoires accrédités

 

L’eau est une ressource aussi précieuse que vitale. En tant que propriétaire d’un puits individuel ou d’un petit réseau desservant moins de 21 personnes, vous avez la responsabilité de vous assurer de sa qualité dans une perspective de protection de votre santé et de celle de vos proches. Vous trouverez dans ce document toute l’information nécessaire afin d’y parvenir.

La qualité de l’eau de mon puits et mes responsabilités...

Lorsqu’elle provient d’un puits de surface ou tubulaire (communément appelé « puits artésien ») et qu’elle est destinée à la consommation humaine, l’eau doit être de bonne qualité et respecter les normes édictées dans le Règlement sur la qualité de l’eau potable (Q-2, r.40). En effet, en vertu de l’article 3 de ce règlement, le propriétaire doit fournir une eau potable à sa famille et à ses visiteurs.

Malgré qu’elle puisse avoir une apparence claire et limpide et n’avoir aucune odeur ou saveur particulière, l’eau captée peut contenir des éléments pouvant avoir des effets indésirables sur la santé, par exemple des microorganismes pathogènes (bactéries, virus ou protozoaires) et des nitrates-nitrites.

L’eau souterraine, qui est généralement de meilleure qualité que l’eau de surface (lac, rivière, ruisseau) grâce à la capacité filtrante du sol, peut être vulnérable à la contamination et des précautions doivent être prises pour assurer en tout temps un approvisionnement en eau de bonne qualité.

Un évènement de contamination peut survenir de façon sporadique, et seule l’analyse de l’eau peut le révéler. Ainsi, le Ministère vous recommande de faire réaliser l’analyse de votre eau par un laboratoire accrédité :

De plus, vous devriez faire réaliser des analyses supplémentaires lorsque vous constatez des changements soudains du goût, de l’odeur ou de l’apparence de l’eau, ou que des modifications sont apportées au puits ou au sol environnant.

Paramètres microbiologiques

  • Bactéries E. coli
  • Bactéries entérocoques
  • Coliformes totaux

Paramètres physico-chimiques

  • Arsenic
  • Manganèse
  • Baryum
  • Nitrates-nitrites
  • Chlorures
  • Sodium
  • Fer
  • Sulfates
  • Fluorures
  • Dureté totale basée sur la teneur en calcium et en magnésium

À elle seule, l’analyse de l’eau ne suffit pas pour garantir la qualité de votre eau de consommation. En effet, outre les analyses préconisées, il faut régulièrement vérifier l’état de votre puits et de votre installation septique, examiner les sources possibles de contamination dans l’environnement du puits et apporter les correctifs appropriés.
 

Retour au menu

Les indicateurs microbiologiques de l’eau…

La majorité des microorganismes pathogènes (virus, bactéries ou protozoaires pouvant causer des maladies) susceptibles de se trouver dans l’eau proviennent de déjections humaines ou animales. Comme il est techniquement impossible de faire l’analyse de tous les pathogènes, on utilise plutôt des indicateurs microbiologiques qui sont en soi sans danger : les bactéries E. coli, les bactéries entérocoques et les bactéries coliformes totales.

Les bactéries E. coli sont très abondantes dans la flore intestinale humaine et animale, et c’est aussi la seule espèce qui soit strictement d’origine fécale. Les bactéries E. coli sont considérées comme le meilleur indicateur de contamination fécale. Leur présence dans l’eau signifie que cette dernière est contaminée par une pollution d’origine fécale et qu’elle peut donc contenir des microorganismes pathogènes.

La gastro-entérite est la maladie la plus fréquente associée à l’ingestion d’eau contaminée par des matières fécales. Bien que cette maladie soit souvent bénigne, elle peut parfois avoir des conséquences très graves sur la santé. D’autres maladies plus rares comme les hépatites ou les méningites peuvent aussi être provoquées par l’ingestion d’eau contaminée. Ce risque concerne non seulement les membres d’une famille qui consomment l’eau d’un puits, mais aussi tous leurs visiteurs.

Les bactéries entérocoques sont moins abondantes dans la flore intestinale des humains et des animaux que les bactéries E. coli, et certaines espèces de ce groupe ne sont pas d’origine fécale. La détection de bactéries entérocoques dans l’eau d’un puits peut indiquer une contamination fécale ou une infiltration d’eau de surface. Il est cependant prudent de considérer la présence de bactéries entérocoques comme une indication d’une contamination fécale.

Les coliformes totaux constituent un groupe hétérogène de bactéries d’origines fécale et environnementale. En effet, la plupart des espèces de coliformes totaux peuvent se trouver naturellement dans le sol et la végétation. Leur présence dans l’eau n’indique pas une contamination fécale ni un risque sanitaire, mais plutôt une dégradation de la qualité bactérienne de l’eau. Cette dégradation peut être attribuée, entre autres, à une infiltration d’eau de surface dans le puits, ou au développement progressif d’une couche de bactéries sur les parois appelée « biofilm ». L’analyse des coliformes totaux permet notamment d’obtenir de l’information sur la vulnérabilité possible d’un puits à la pollution de surface.

Retour au menu

 

Présence de bactéries E. coli ou entérocoques dans mon eau

L’eau potable ne doit contenir aucune trace de bactéries E. coli ou entérocoques. Si c’est le cas, il est essentiel de maintenir cette eau en ébullition durant au moins une minute avant de la consommer, ou de se procurer de l’eau potable provenant d’un réseau de distribution ou de l’eau embouteillée. Il faut également utiliser de l’eau bouillie ou de l’eau provenant de ces sources alternatives pour préparer des glaçons, des breuvages et des aliments pour bébés, laver les aliments qui seront mangés crus et se brosser les dents. On peut continuer d’utiliser l’eau du puits pour la douche et le bain (en prenant soin d’éviter de l’avaler), toutefois, les enfants et bébés devraient être lavés à l’éponge. Ces recommandations doivent être suivies jusqu’à ce que des analyses subséquentes révèlent la conformité de l’eau aux normes.

Il est recommandé de déterminer la source de la contamination et d’apporter, si possible, les correctifs appropriés. Ensuite, un traitement choc de désinfection du puits peut être approprié, spécialement lorsque la contamination est liée à des circonstances particulières (fonte, pluie abondante, etc.). Comme un traitement choc peut endommager un équipement de traitement de l’eau, il est recommandé de débrancher le vôtre, s’il y a lieu, avant de débuter la procédure.

La désinfection d’un puits s’effectue de la façon suivante :

  1. Nettoyer le puits, si possible, à l’aide d’une puisette afin d’enlever les corps étrangers, les dépôts, les matières animales ou végétales, etc. 

  2. Verser dans le puits de l’eau de Javel selon les quantités mentionnées dans le tableau suivant, intitulé « Quantité requise d’eau de Javel pour la désinfection d’un puits ».

  3. Mélanger l’eau de Javel avec l’eau du puits et, si possible, laver et brosser la paroi intérieure. On peut également raccorder un tuyau d’arrosage au robinet le plus proche et rincer la paroi intérieure du puits, afin d’assurer un mélange complet du chlore et de l’eau dans tout le puits.

  4. Ouvrir tous les robinets d'eau froide de la résidence. Lorsque l’odeur du chlore est perceptible aux robinets, arrêter la pompe du puits et fermer les robinets.

  5. Attendre 24 heures avant de faire circuler l’eau dans les tuyaux. Il n’est cependant pas utile de purger son chauffe-eau.

  6. Effectuer par la suite une purge prolongée en laissant couler l’eau d’un robinet jusqu’à ce que l’odeur du chlore disparaisse. Ouvrir ensuite tous les robinets pour rincer complètement la tuyauterie.

  7. Procéder à de nouvelles analyses de l’eau une semaine suivant la désinfection et quatre semaines plus tard, afin de savoir si l’eau répond aux normes de qualité.

Présence de coliformes totaux dans mon eau

La présence de coliformes totaux renforce l’importance de faire des analyses régulièrement et d’apporter les correctifs appropriés pour prévenir toute contamination fécale éventuelle. Si de nouvelles analyses confirment la présence de coliformes totaux en des concentrations excédant la norme (au-delà de 10 ufc/100 ml), il peut s’avérer pertinent d’effectuer un traitement choc de désinfection du puits.

Retour au menu

Déterminer la source de contamination

Il est important de déterminer la source de la contamination et d’apporter les correctifs appropriés pour améliorer la qualité de l’eau à long terme. Les sources locales de contamination peuvent être multiples :

  • Mauvais aménagement du puits (manque d’étanchéité du couvercle ou du scellement, dégradation des matériaux, etc.);
  • Pente inadéquate du sol environnant (absence d’un monticule autour du puits pour éloigner le ruissellement provenant de la surface);
  • Installation septique défectueuse;
  • Insalubrité des lieux (ex. : épandage de fumier ou autres activités générant de la pollution fécale à proximité).

Dans ces cas, il s’agit donc de procéder aux travaux requis pour corriger la situation ou de sensibiliser le responsable de la source de contamination. La personne aux prises avec un problème de contamination peut communiquer avec l’officier municipal concerné, qui l’aidera à orienter sa recherche de solutions. Des analyses subséquentes de la qualité de l’eau permettront de vérifier l’efficacité des correctifs apportés.

La qualité de l’eau de mon puits en situation d’inondation

Lors d’une inondation, les propriétaires d’un puits individuel doivent prendre des précautions particulières, car de tels événements génèrent des risques importants pour la qualité de l’eau souterraine; celle-ci peut être contaminée à la fois par l’eau de la rivière et par des installations septiques situées à proximité. Pour prévenir les risques de maladies liées à la consommation d’eau contaminée, le Ministère recommande aux personnes touchées les mesures suivantes :

  • Pendant l’inondation : l’eau de tout puits situé dans un secteur inondé doit être considérée comme non potable. Les personnes touchées devraient s’approvisionner en eau potable à partir d’une source alternative (par exemple, de l’eau provenant d’un réseau de distribution ou de l’eau embouteillée), ou faire bouillir durant une minute toute eau destinée à l’ingestion ou à la préparation d’aliments non cuits.
  • Après l’inondation : après le retrait définitif des eaux d’inondation, le propriétaire devrait d’abord vérifier l’intégrité des équipements de son puits et plus particulièrement le circuit électrique. Il devrait ensuite attendre un minimum de dix jours avant de désinfecter le puits selon la procédure décrite ci-dessous, et s’assurer que les résultats des deux séries d’analyses recommandées par la suite sont conformes avant de recommencer à consommer l’eau.

Retour au menu

Quantité requise d’eau de Javel pour la désinfection d’un puits

On recommande une concentration de 50 mg/l de chlore libre pour assurer une désinfection efficace d’un puits existant (utiliser une eau de Javel à 5 % non parfumée que l’on trouve sur le marché). Pour désinfecter un nouveau puits, les volumes d’eau de Javel inscrits doivent être multipliés par cinq, puisqu’on recommande une concentration de 250 mg/l de chlore libre.

Les tableaux ci-dessous permettent de déterminer les quantités à utiliser en fonction du diamètre et de la profondeur du puits.

Quantités applicables à un puits de surface

Un puits de surface est généralement constitué de tuyaux en béton superposés dont le diamètre est le plus souvent supérieur à 600 millimètres. Sa profondeur excède rarement neuf mètres.

Puits de surface

Profondeur d’eau dans le puits (mètres)

Diamètre du puits
(millimètres)

1

1,5

2

2,5

3

3,5

4

Millilitres d’eau de Javel

914

700 ml

1 000 ml

1 300 ml

1 600 ml

2 000 ml

2 300 ml

2 600 ml

1 067

900 ml

1 400 ml

1 800 ml

2 200 ml

2 700 ml

3 100 ml

3 600 ml

1 219

1 200 ml

1 800 ml

2 300 ml

2 900 ml

3 500 ml

4 000 ml

4 700 ml

1 372

1 500 ml

2 200 ml

3 000 ml

3 700 ml

4 400 ml

5 200 ml

5 900 ml

1 524

1 800 ml

2 700 ml

3 700 ml

4 600 ml

5 500 ml

6 400 ml

7 300 ml

1 676

2 200 ml

3 300 ml

4 400 ml

5 500 ml

6 600 ml

7 700 ml

8 800 ml

Quantités applicables à un puits tubulaire ou artésien

Un puits tubulaire est foré lorsque la nappe d’eau souterraine est profonde ou lorsque la surface est rocheuse. Il est généralement constitué d’un tuyau d’acier d’un diamètre inférieur à 80 millimètres et d’une longueur de plus de six mètres.

Puits tubulaire ou artésien

Profondeur d’eau dans le puits (mètres)

Diamètre du puits
(millimètres)

15

30

45

60

Millilitres d’eau de Javel

50

30 ml

60 ml

90 ml

120 ml

65

50 ml

100 ml

150 ml

190 ml

76

60 ml

140 ml

200 ml

270 ml

89

90 ml

190 ml

280 ml

400 ml

102

120 ml

250 ml

370 ml

500 ml

127

190 ml

380 ml

570 ml

800 ml

152

270 ml

540 ml

820 ml

1 100 ml

Outil de calcul pour la désinfection d'un puits

S'agit-il d'un nouveau puits ou d'un puits existant

Type de puits : Tubulaire (artésien)   Surface
Diamètre :    Pouces Centimètres Millimètres
Profondeur :     Pieds   Mètres  



Vous devez donc utiliser litres ou
  millilitres d'eau de javel 5 %
 

Retour au menu

Les nitrates-nitrites…

Les principales sources de nitrates-nitrites sont les fertilisants agricoles, le fumier, les rejets sanitaires et la décomposition d’organismes végétaux et animaux. Les nitrates et nitrites que contiennent ces matières sont entraînés vers les eaux de surface et les nappes d’eau souterraine par l’infiltration de la pluie ou la fonte des neiges. Les infiltrations sont donc plus importantes au printemps et à l’automne.

La présence de nitrates-nitrites dans mon eau

Au-delà de 5 mg/l 

Une concentration de nitrates-nitrites supérieure à 5 mg/l dans un puits indique généralement une influence du milieu agricole et justifie un suivi de ce paramètre au moins deux fois par année, puisque les concentrations peuvent augmenter avec le temps.

Au-delà de 10 mg/l 

Si la concentration de nitrates-nitrites détectée dans l’eau excède la norme précisée dans le Règlement sur la qualité de l’eau potable, soit 10 mg/l, cette eau ne doit pas être utilisée pour l’alimentation des nourrissons ni consommée par les femmes enceintes. La population en général doit également éviter le plus possible de consommer régulièrement une eau dont la concentration en nitrates-nitrites excède la norme. Pour plus de précisions sur les recommandations applicables, les personnes touchées sont invitées à s’adresser à la direction de santé publique de leur région.

Déterminer la source de contamination

Il est important de déterminer la source de contamination et de procéder, si possible, aux travaux requis. La contamination peut être causée par l’épandage de fumier ou d’engrais chimiques à proximité du puits, ou par les installations septiques avoisinantes. Vous pouvez contacter un représentant de la direction régionale du Ministère de votre territoire afin de trouver une solution appropriée.

Mon eau ne respecte toujours pas les normes de qualité…

Si toutes les démarches mentionnées précédemment se sont avérées infructueuses, il est toujours possible d’obtenir une eau de bonne qualité en procédant à l’installation d’un ou de plusieurs appareils de traitement spécialement conçus pour éliminer les problèmes révélés par les résultats de l’analyse. La Régie du bâtiment du Québec fixe des exigences à l’égard des types de dispositifs de traitement pouvant être installés dans les résidences. Pour choisir le système de traitement approprié, on peut communiquer avec une entreprise spécialisée en matière de traitement de l’eau. Les produits certifiés conformes aux normes NSF/ANSI applicables sont reconnus comme efficaces en ce qui a trait au respect des normes de qualité. Par ailleurs, il est essentiel que de tels systèmes de traitement soient installés par une personne qualifiée, et utilisés et entretenus selon les recommandations du fabricant.

 

Retour au menu

Faire analyser mon eau…

Pour procéder à l’analyse de l’eau d’un puits, il est recommandé de s’adresser à l’un des laboratoires accrédités par le Ministère. La liste complète des laboratoires accrédités est mise à jour régulièrement dans le site Internet du Ministère. Le laboratoire avise immédiatement le propriétaire du puits si la qualité de l’eau ne correspond pas aux normes établies.

En plus de l’analyse des paramètres mentionnés précédemment, l’analyse d’autres paramètres (hydrocarbures, solvants, pesticides, etc.) peut s’avérer pertinente si l’on soupçonne la présence d’activités polluantes dans son secteur.

Des méthodes adéquates de prélèvement des échantillons sont essentielles pour s’assurer de la validité des résultats. Pour plus de détails, vous pouvez consulter l'annexe 4 du Règlement sur la qualité de l’eau potable.

De manière générale, il est recommandé de rapporter tout résultat d’analyse montrant le dépassement d’une norme chimique à la direction de santé publique de sa région afin d’obtenir des conseils sur l’eau destinée à la consommation humaine. Les coordonnées des directions de santé publique sont diffusées à l’adresse Internet suivante : http://publications.msss.gouv.qc.ca/acrobat/f/documentation/preventioncontrole/14-268-02W.pdf.

Pour plus de renseignements…

Communiquez avec le Centre d’information du Ministère ou la direction régionale de votre territoire.

 


Barre de navigation

| Accueil | Plan du site | Accessibilité | Pour nous joindre | Quoi de neuf? | Sites d'intérêt | Recherche | Où trouver? |

| Accès à l'information | Politique de confidentialité | Réalisation du site | À propos du site | Abonnement aux fils RSSAbonnement |


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2015