Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs
Home Site Map Québec Portal E-Mail Search About the site Français

Kativik Environmental Advisory Committee (KEAC)


Mandatela Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois

The Kativik Environmental Advisory Committee (KEAC) is consulted by the governments of Québec and Canada and by northern municipalities, as the first-hand and official contact, when they draft laws and regulations regarding environmental and social protection in the territory governed by the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (JBNQA) and located north of the 55th parallel. The main function of the KEAC is to oversee, through an exchange of views and information, the application of Chapter 23 of the JBNQA.

Minister responsible

The Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment, Wildlife and Parks


Kativik Environmental Advisory Committee (KEAC)
P.O. Box 930
Kuujjuaq, Québec JOM 1C0
KEAC Website


Legal Basis

Environment Quality Act (R.S.Q., c. Q-2): sections 169 to 180.

James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (JBNQA): section 23.5.


Members appointed by the government of Canada:

  • Mr. Claude Abel
  • Ms. Line Choinière
  • Ms. Thessa Girard-Bourgoin
  • Members appointed by the government of Québec:

  • Ms. Julie Samson
  • Ms. Sylvie Létourneau
  • Ms. Paule Halley
  • Members appointed by the Kativik Regional Government (KRG):

  • Mr. Michael Barrett, President
  • Ms. Betsy Palliser
  • Mr. Henry Alayco
  • Secretary:

    Mr. Benjamin Patenaude
    Telephone: 819 964-2961, poste 2287
    Fax: 819 964-0694
    Email: bpatenaude@krg.ca


    The Ministère guarantees the operations of the KEAC through an annual grant. It also awards a grant to allow members appointed by the KRG to participate in meetings. Under the provisions of the JBNQA and an administrative agreement, the government of Canada must reimburse Québec one-half of the KEAC’s operating expenses.

    Site Web du CCEK

    For more information, consult the Kativik Environmental Advisory Committee’s website.

    Régime Nord du Québec

    Return to the top