Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs
Home Site Map Québec Portal E-Mail Search About the site Français

Report on Sales of Pesticides in Québec 2015

Summary

The Report on sales of pesticides in Québec is compiled annually by the Ministère (MDDELCC) to inform the population and stakeholders involved in the sale and use of pesticides. The Ministère is responsible for enforcing the Pesticides Act (chapter P-9.3) which, in accordance with the Regulation respecting permits and certificates for the sale and use of pesticides (chapter P-9.3, r.2), provides for collecting data, including data on pesticide sales. The Ministère therefore has at its disposal the information needed to achieve its objective to reduce and rationalize the use of pesticides in Québec.

The Report on sales of pesticides is also used to calculate the indicator in the Stratégie phytosanitaire québécoise en agriculture 2011-2021 (SPQA), whose broad objective is to reduce the risk for the environment and health associated with the use of pesticides by 25% by 2021 compared to the 2006-2008 reference period. Monitoring these risks is conducted primarily via the study of the pesticide sales for agricultural purposes that are integrated into the Québec Pesticide Risk Indicator (IRPeQ).

Since 1992, the report has been indicating changes in pesticide sales based on various categories and particularly sales in agricultural and urban environments.

The amount of active ingredients in total 2015 pesticide sales (French, PDF, 431 KB) in Québec was 4,288,176 kilograms (kg a.i.). This represented a drop of 4.1% from 2014 sales but a rise of 6.3% from 1992, which was the first year in which this type of data was compiled.

The Agricultural environment section (French, PDF, 289 KB) compiles sales of pesticides for crop production (field, sheltered and container crops) and sales for use on livestock and agricultural buildings. In 2014, pesticide sales for farming amount to 4,035,642 kg a.i., or 90.3% of total sales. Herbicide sales represent 68.2% of pesticide sales for crop protection. Agricultural pesticide sales in 2015 were 87.5% of total sales and included 3,751,358 kg a.i. Sales of herbicides represented 65.7% of all pesticide sales used for crop protection.

The per-hectare pressure index dropped from 2.15 kg a.i. in 2014 to 2.03 kg a.i. in 2015. The total area under cultivation dropped by 1.9%, while agricultural pesticide sales also dropped by 7.6% during this period of time, which explains the drop in the per-hectare pressure index. Agricultural pesticide risk indicators are expressed in comparison to the average for the 2006–2008 period of reference. In 2015, the environmental and health risk indicators increased respectively by 5% and 3% compared to that reference period, while remaining lower than in 2014.

The Urban environment (French, PDF, 202 KB) compiles sales of pesticides for domestic use (products for individuals) as well as sales for the maintenance of landscaped areas (residential, commercial and golf courses) and extermination. Sales of pesticides for urban use represented 7.8% of total sales and included 336,326 kg a.i., which corresponds to a 18.3% increase in sales over 2014. The change is attributable to increased pesticide sales for household use (2.1%), pesticides intended for green space maintenance (78.5%) and pesticides used for extermination purposes (15.2%) during this period of time. Biopesticides used for household purposes represented 31.9% of total domestic sales.

The Other sales section (French, PDF, 139 KB) includes pesticides sold for use in industries, for clearing road, rail and energy corridors, as well as electrical substations and power line and gas pipeline right-of-ways, clearing uncultivated land, developing and protecting forests and controlling stinging insects. The total quantity sold in 2015 included 200,493 kg a.i., which was an increase of 33.1% over 2014.

The following are links to each section where details are provided:

 


Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail gouvernemental A propos du site Recherche English

Bilan des ventes de pesticides au Québec 2015

Résumé

Le Bilan des ventes de pesticides au Québec est élaboré annuellement par le Ministère en vue d’informer la population et les intervenants concernés par la vente et l’utilisation des pesticides. La Loi sur les pesticides (chapitre P‑9.3), dont l’application relève du Ministère, prévoit, conformément au Règlement sur les permis et les certificats pour la vente et l’utilisation des pesticides (chapitre P‑9.3, r.2), la collecte de données, notamment celles des ventes de pesticides. Le Ministère dispose donc des renseignements nécessaires au suivi de son objectif de réduction et de rationalisation de l’usage des pesticides au Québec.

Le Bilan des ventes de pesticides sert également au calcul de l’indicateur de la Stratégie phytosanitaire québécoise en agriculture 2011‑2021 (SPQA), dont l’objectif général est de réduire de 25 % le risque pour l’environnement et la santé liés à l’utilisation des pesticides d’ici 2021 par rapport à la période de référence 2006-2008. Le suivi de ces risques est effectué notamment par l’examen des ventes de pesticides à des fins agricoles intégrées à l'indice de risque des pesticides du Québec (IRPeQ).

Depuis 1992, le bilan présente l'évolution des ventes de pesticides selon différentes catégories et particulièrement les ventes en milieux agricole et urbain. 

En 2015, les ventes totales (PDF, 431 ko) de pesticides au Québec se chiffrent à 4 288 176 kilogrammes d’ingrédients actifs (kg i.a.). Cela représente une diminution de 4,1 % par rapport aux ventes de 2014 ainsi qu’une augmentation de 6,3 % par rapport à celles de 1992, première année de la compilation de ces données.

Le milieu agricole (PDF, 330 ko) regroupe les ventes de pesticides pour la production végétale (au champ, en cultures abritées et en contenants) et celles pour une utilisation sur le bétail et dans les bâtiments agricoles. En 2015, les ventes de pesticides pour le milieu agricole sont de 3 751 358 kg i.a., soit 87,5 % des ventes totales. Les ventes d’herbicides représentent 65,7 % des ventes de pesticides utilisés pour la phytoprotection des productions végétales.

L’indice de pression à l’hectare est passé de 2,15 à 2,04 kg i.a. à l’hectare entre 2014 et 2015. Les superficies totales en culture ont diminué de 1,9 %, les ventes de pesticides agricoles ont également diminué de 7,6 % durant cette période, ce qui explique la diminution de l’indice de pression à l’hectare. Les indicateurs de risque des pesticides du secteur agricole sont exprimés par rapport à la moyenne de la période de référence 2006-2008. En 2015, l’indicateur de risque pour l’environnement et celui pour la santé ont augmenté respectivement de 5 % et de 3 % par rapport à cette période de référence, mais sont moins élevés qu’en 2014.

Le milieu urbain (PDF, 382 ko) regroupe les ventes de pesticides à usage domestique (produits destinés aux particuliers) ainsi que les ventes destinées à l’entretien des espaces verts aménagés (résidentiels, commerciaux et terrains de golf) et à l’extermination. Les ventes de pesticides pour le milieu urbain représentent 7,8 % des ventes totales, soit 336 326 kg i.a. ce qui correspond à une augmentation des ventes de 18,3 % par rapport à 2014. Cette variation est attribuable à une augmentation des ventes de pesticides à usage domestique (2,1 %), des pesticides destinés à l’entretien des espaces verts (78,5 %) et ceux pour l’extermination (15,2 %) durant cette période. Les biopesticides à usage domestique représentent 31,9 % des ventes domestiques totales.

La section Autres ventes (PDF, 271 ko) comprend les pesticides vendus pour une utilisation dans les industries, pour le dégagement des corridors de transport routier, ferroviaire ou d’énergie ainsi que des postes électriques et des emprises de lignes électriques et de gazoducs, pour le dégagement des terrains incultes, pour l’aménagement et la protection des forêts et pour le contrôle des insectes piqueurs. La quantité vendue est de 200 493 kg i.a. en 2015, soit une augmentation de 33,1 % par rapport à 2014.

Les liens suivants mènent au détail de chaque section :


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2017