Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs
Home Site Map Québec Portal E-Mail Search About the site Français

Agreement between Dow AgroSciences and the Government of Canada

On March 31, 2009, Dow AgroSciences LLC (DAS) filed an arbitration notice against the Government of Canada under NAFTA, Chapter 11. The complaint, addressed to the Government of Canada as party to NAFTA, concerns the use and sales prohibition of 2,4-D under Québec’s Pesticides Management Code.

In its complaint, DAS argues that the Government of Canada violated Sections 1105 and 1110 of Chapter 11 of the NAFTA agreement and neglected to fulfill its obligations under these two sections by enacting the 2,4-D prohibitions in the Pesticides Management Code.

Québec took part in the federal government-DAS discussions with a view to achieving a definitive agreement prior to arbitration hearings, in accordance with habitual NAFTA mechanisms. These discussions led to a settlement agreement between the Government of Canada and DAS. The Government of Québec has pledged to the Government of Canada that it will respect of the terms of the agreement.

Contents and effect of the agreement between DAS and the Government of Canada:

  • The Pesticides Management Code will remain as is, with 2,4-D listed on Schedule I : Prohibited active ingredients.
  • No financial compensation will be paid to DAS.
  • DAS renounces all recourse against the measures that are the subject of its arbitration request.
  • The Government of Quebec agrees that products containing 2,4-D do not pose an unacceptable risk to human health or the environment, provided that the instructions on their label are followed, as concluded by Health Canada’s Pest Management Regulatory Agency in its May 16, 2008, decision on the re-evaluation of 2,4-D.

Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail gouvernemental A propos du site Recherche English

Entente entre Dow AgroSciences et le gouvernement du Canada

Le 31 mars 2009, la compagnie Dow AgroSciences LLC (DAS) déposait contre le gouvernement du Canada un avis d’arbitrage en vertu du chapitre 11 de l’ALENA. La plainte vise le gouvernement du Canada en tant que partie à l’ALENA, mais celle-ci concerne l’interdiction d’utilisation et de vente du 2,4-D prévue au Code de gestion des pesticides adopté par le Québec.

Dans sa plainte, DAS évoquait que le gouvernement du Canada a contrevenu aux articles 1105 et 1110 du chapitre 11 de l’ALENA. Il considérait que le Canada avait failli aux obligations qui lui incombaient en vertu de ces deux articles en édictant les interdictions relatives au 2,4-D dans le Code de gestion des pesticides.

Le Québec a participé aux discussions avec le gouvernement fédéral et DAS dans le but d’en arriver à une entente définitive avant tout recours devant le tribunal d’arbitrage et ce, selon les mécanismes applicables habituels de l’ALENA. Ces discussions ont mené à un accord de règlement entre le gouvernement du Canada et DAS. Le gouvernement du Québec s’est engagé auprès du gouvernement du Canada à respecter les termes de l’entente.

Contenu et effet de l’entente entre DAS et le gouvernement du Canada :

  • Le Code de gestion des pesticides est maintenu intégralement et le 2,4-D demeure inscrit à l’annexe I : Ingrédients actifs interdits;
  • Aucune compensation financière ne sera payée à DAS;
  • DAS renonce à tout recours à l’encontre des mesures qui font l’objet de sa demande d’arbitrage;
  • Le gouvernement du Québec convient que les produits contenant du 2,4-D ne posent pas de risque inacceptable pour la santé humaine ou l’environnement, à la condition que les directives de leur étiquette soient respectées, tel que le concluait l’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire de Santé Canada dans sa décision sur la réévaluation du 2,4-D du 16 mai 2008.


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2017