Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs
Home Site Map Québec Portal E-Mail Search About the site Français

ClimatSol-Plus program

Documentation

Part 1:

Part 2:

The ClimatSol-Plus program strongly supports the implementation of the Policy and the achievement of its action points. The reuse of contaminated lands that are often found in urban areas and served by all kinds of infrastructure offers undeniable advantages from both an economic and an environmental point of view. In implementing the ClimatSol-Plus program, Québec ensures continued funding of contaminated land rehabilitation and pursues the work accomplished by the Revi-Sols and ClimatSol programs. ClimatSol-Plus is intended to be used by:

  • Municipalities
  • Private landowners who are not responsible for the contamination of their land

In this way, the Government of Québec furthers its already well-established partnership with municipalities, who are significant allies in efforts to reach Québec’s objectives in the areas of greenhouse gas emission reduction and adaptation to the consequences of climate change. There are two parts to ClimatSol-Plus. Part 1 sets specific objectives in the fight against climate change, while Part 2 targets rehabilitating land with major economic potential and making it more attractive to eventual developers.

Here are the details:

  • Part 1:
  • Part 2:
    • A budget of 25 million dollars over 5 years
    • Financed by additional credits granted to the MDDELCC

Program information: 


Objectives

By making new government funding available, ClimatSol-Plus aims at giving contaminated lands a second life. More precisely, the program seeks to energize existing urban environments through the use of best land development practices. All submitted projects must contribute to local sustainable development initiatives and to the following objectives:

Part 1:

  • Rehabilitate contaminated lands
  • Implement measures to reduce heat islands
  • Create conditions that are favourable to population intensification in areas within the urbanization perimeter
  • Incorporate green building (energy efficiency) technologies into investment projects
  • Foster the use of proven soil decontamination technologies

Part 2:

  • Rehabilitate contaminated lands with strong economic development potential
  • Create conditions that are favourable to population intensification in areas within the urbanization perimeter. By reusing urban lands, transportation needs can be reduced, which helps reach climate change goals
  • Foster the use of proven soil decontamination treatment technologies

Back to top

Clientele eligibility

Eligible municipal applicants—municipalities, metropolitan communities, unorganized territories, regional county municipalities (RCM), inter-municipal authorities, and corporate bodies and organizations that have one or more of the following characteristics:

  • The majority of the applicant’s members are appointed by one or more municipal bodies
  • More than half of the applicant’s funding comes from one or more municipal bodies.

Eligible private applicants—Natural persons or private corporate bodies that own land that can be rehabilitated and meet the following conditions:

  • The applicant is not listed in the Registre des entreprises non admissibles aux contrats publics (RENA)
  • The applicant has not, in whole or in part, released, deposited, generated or discharged contaminants onto its land as understood in section 1 of the Land Protection and Rehabilitation Regulation (CQLR c Q-2, r 37) or has not allowed such release, deposit, generation or discharge prior to the date of application for the land at issue
  • The applicant has not, since January 1, 2015, in whole or in part, released, deposited, generated or discharged contaminants onto its land as understood in section 1 of the Land Protection and Rehabilitation Regulation, or authorized such release, deposit, generation or discharge and was neither the owner, lessee or custodian of the land

Back to top

Project eligibility

To be deemed eligible, projects must be located within an RCM urbanization perimeter, reclaim land whose level of contamination exceeds the criteria for use or maximum regulatory  values as set out in the Land Protection and Rehabilitation Regulation, and comply with current Québec laws and regulations as well as the following:

Part 1:

  • Perform work on the rehabilitated land that enables its development. This may involve construction and/or major renovation or enlargement of a building, plant or facility. The goal is to restore the land’s original purpose or give it a new function. Residential, industrial, commercial or institutional construction and the development of public service spaces and/or infrastructure must be in line with a local sustainable development strategy
  • Comply with measures to fight climate change and reduce heat islands.

Part 2:

  • Support a commercial or industrial activity. Other uses may be deemed eligible only if they serve the common good. Applicants for a collective project must demonstrate how the project will contribute to local economic development
  • Support an investment project. For projects where no investment project is planned, the applicant must submit a rationale justifying the strategic nature of the land in the materialization of local urban planning or any other document that presents the economic development strategy adopted by the municipality for the zone to be renovated or rehabilitated

Project eligibility will be checked by the Ministère. Eligible projects need to have been already accepted by the relevant municipality.

Back to top

Funding granted under the program

Part 1—Funding shall be as follows:

  • 50% of all eligible costs related to hauling contaminated soil for treatment by proven technologies that have been authorized by the Minister
  • 70% of all eligible costs for:
    • In situ treatment of contaminated soil and materials mixed therein using proven technologies that have been authorized by the Minister
      and
    • In situ treatment of subsurface water using proven technologies that have been authorized by the Minister
  • 50% of all eligible costs for:
    • On-site or off-site removal treatment of contaminated soil and materials mixed therein
      and
    • On-site or off-site water treatment
However, for collective projects as defined in section 5 of the Normative framework, this ratio shall be 70%.
  • 50% of all eligible costs related to hauling excavated contaminated soil to the reclamation site. The cost of hauling is only eligible for soil that meets the criteria for use or the maximum regulatory values before excavation or exceeds the criteria for use or the maximum regulatory values prior to excavation, but has already been treated. The reclamation options must be approved by the Minister
  • 30% of all eligible costs for off-site hauling and disposal of metal-contaminated soil that fails to meet the criteria for use or maximum regulatory values and for which no treatment technology has been authorized by the Minister
  • 15% of all eligible costs for off-site hauling and disposal of contaminated soil in cases where the level of contamination fails to meet the criteria for use or maximum regulatory values
  • 50% of all eligible costs of support materials that enable lasting vegetation to colonize outside walls (to a maximum of $10,000). However, for collective projects as defined in section 5, this ratio shall be 70%.
  • 50% of all eligible costs of components needed for the installation of lasting rooftop vegetation (to a maximum of $50,000). However, for collective projects as defined in section 5, this ratio shall be 70%.
  • 50% of all eligible costs related to the hauling and reclamation* of residual materials that are excavated and segregated when mixed with contaminated soil. The reclamation options must be approved by the Minister
  • 30% of all eligible costs related to the hauling and disposal of residual materials that are excavated and segregated when mixed with contaminated soil
  • 50% of all other eligible costs.

Part 2—Funding shall be as follows:

  • 50% of all eligible costs related to hauling contaminated soil for processing by proven technologies that have been authorized by the Minister
  • 70% of all eligible costs for:
    • In situ treatment of contaminated soil and materials mixed therein using proven technologies that have been authorized by the Minister
      and
      In situ treatment of subsurface water using proven technologies that have been authorized by the Minister
  • 50% of all eligible costs for:
    • On-site or off-site removal treatment of contaminated soil and materials mixed therein
      and
    • On-site or off-site water treatment
However, for collective projects as defined in section 5, this ratio shall be 70%.
  • 50% of all eligible costs related to hauling excavated contaminated soil to the reclamation site. The cost of hauling is only eligible for soil that meets the criteria for use or the maximum regulatory values before excavation or exceeds the criteria for use or the maximum regulatory values prior to excavation, but has already been treated. The reclamation options must be approved by the Minister
  • 30% of all eligible costs for off-site hauling and disposal of metal-contaminated soil that fails to meet the criteria for use or maximum regulatory values and for which no treatment technology has been authorized by the Minister
  • 15% of all eligible costs for off-site hauling and disposal of contaminated soil in cases where the level of contamination fails to meet the criteria for use or maximum regulatory values
  • 50% of all eligible costs related to the hauling and reclamation* of residual materials that are excavated and segregated when mixed with contaminated soil. The reclamation options must be approved by the Minister
  • 30% of all eligible costs related to the hauling and disposal of residual materials that are excavated and segregated when mixed with contaminated soil
  • 50% of all other eligible costs.

The funding ceiling for projects submitted under Part 1 or 2 of ClimatSol‑Plus shall be one million dollars.

(*) Subsidized reclamation options exclude the use of residual materials as daily cover at landfills that are managed per the Regulation respecting the landfilling and incineration of residual materials (REIMR).

Back to top

How to submit an application for funding

To obtain funding under the ClimatSol-Plus program, private applicants must:

  • Fill out the appropriate application (part 1 or 2) (see “Documentation” below)
  • Meet the eligibility criteria outlined in the applicable normative framework (part 1 or 2) (see “Documentation” below)
  • Submit the duly completed and signed application in triplicate to the municipality concerned, along with the additional documents required under the normative framework

All applications for funding must be forwarded to the ministry by the municipality in question.

The next deadline is February 2, 2018. The applications must be received by the ministry no later than 4 p.m. (local time) at the following address:

Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement
et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Pôle d’expertise régionale – Secteur industriel
201, place Charles-Le Moyne, 2ndFloor
Longueuil (Québec)  J4K 2T5

Applications received after 4 p.m. on February 2, 2018, will be considered for the next deadline, which will be announced at a later date.

Since applications must be checked and approved at the municipal level, we recommend contacting your municipality to find out when to submit your application in order to meet the program deadline.

Back to top

Documentation

Part 1:

Part 2:

Back to top

Requests for information

For additional information, please contact the Secrétariat du Pôle d’expertise régionale du secteur industriel du Ministère by one of the following means.

Email: climatsol-plus@mddelcc.gouv.qc.ca

Telephone: 450 928-7607, ext. 361

Mailing address: 
201, place Charles-Le Moyne, 2e étage
Longueuil (Québec)  J4K 2T5


Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail gouvernemental A propos du site Recherche English

Programme ClimatSol-Plus

Documentation

Volet 1 :

Volet 2 :

Le programme ClimatSol-Plus vient fortement appuyer la mise en oeuvre de la Politique et la réalisation de ses actions. La réutilisation des terrains contaminés, souvent situés au coeur des villes et desservis par des infrastructures de toutes sortes, constitue un avantage indéniable, tant du point de vue économique que du point de vue environnemental. Avec la mise en oeuvre du programme ClimatSol-Plus, le Québec s’assure de maintenir un soutien financier à la réhabilitation des terrains contaminés, dans la continuité des programmes Revi-Sols et ClimatSol. Il s’adresse aux :

  • Municipalités;
  • Propriétaires privés (qui ne sont pas responsables de la contamination).

Le gouvernement du Québec poursuit ainsi un partenariat déjà solidement établi avec les municipalités, qui sont des alliés importants dans l’atteinte des objectifs que le Québec s’est donnés en matière de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre et d’adaptation aux conséquences des changements climatiques. Le programme comporte deux volets. Le volet 1 se distingue par des objectifs spécifiques liés à la lutte contre les changements climatiques. Le volet 2 vise, pour sa part, la réhabilitation des terrains à fort potentiel économique afin de les rendre attrayants pour d’éventuels promoteurs.

Ce nouveau programme est divisé en deux volets :

  • Volet 1 :
    • Doté d’une enveloppe budgétaire de 30 millions de dollars pour une période de trois ans;
    • Financé par le Fonds vert par l’entremise du Plan d’action 2013‑2020 sur les changements climatiques (PACC 2013-2020);
  • Volet 2 :
    • Doté d’une enveloppe budgétaire de 25 millions de dollars pour une période de cinq ans;
    • Financé par des crédits additionnels accordés au Ministère.

Information sur le programme : 


Les objectifs

Par l’intermédiaire d’une aide financière gouvernementale, le programme a pour objectif de donner une seconde vie à des terrains contaminés. ClimatSol-Plus vise plus particulièrement à dynamiser des milieux urbains existants par le recours à de meilleures pratiques d’aménagement du territoire. Les projets soumis doivent contribuer à la démarche locale de développement durable et à l’atteinte des objectifs suivants :

Volet 1 :

  • Réhabiliter des terrains contaminés;
  • Mettre en œuvre des mesures de lutte contre les îlots de chaleur;
  • Créer des conditions favorables à la densification de la population dans les territoires situés à l’intérieur du périmètre d’urbanisation;
  • Intégrer aux projets d’investissement des technologies vertes du bâtiment (efficacité énergétique);
  • Favoriser l’utilisation de technologies de traitement éprouvées pour la décontamination des sols;

Volet 2 :

  • Réhabiliter des terrains contaminés ayant un fort potentiel de développement économique;
  • Créer des conditions favorables à la densification de la population dans les territoires situés à l’intérieur du périmètre d’urbanisation. En réutilisant des terrains en ville, il est possible de limiter les transports et de contribuer, ainsi, à l’atteinte des objectifs de lutte contre les changements climatiques;
  • Favoriser l’utilisation de technologies de traitement éprouvées pour la décontamination des sols.

Retour en haut

Les clientèles admissibles

Demandeurs municipaux : les municipalités, les communautés métropolitaines, les territoires non organisés, les municipalités régionales de comté, les régies intermunicipales, les personnes morales ou les organismes qui possèdent l’une ou l’autre des caractéristiques suivantes :

  • La majorité des membres du demandeur sont nommés par un ou plusieurs organismes municipaux;
  • Le financement du demandeur provient, pour plus de la moitié, d’un ou de plusieurs organismes municipaux.

Demandeurs privés : les personnes physiques ou les personnes morales de droit privé qui sont propriétaires de terrains à réhabiliter et qui respectent les conditions suivantes :

  • Le demandeur n’est pas inscrit au Registre des entreprises non admissibles aux contrats publics (RENA);
  • Le demandeur n’a pas émis, déposé, dégagé ou rejeté, en tout ou en partie, de contaminants au sens de l’article 1 du Règlement sur la protection et la réhabilitation des terrains (RLRQ, chapitre Q-2, r. 37), ou n’en a pas permis l’émission, le dépôt, le dégagement ou le rejet antérieurement à la date de la demande sur le terrain visé;
  • Depuis le 1er janvier 2015, celui ou ceux qui ont émis, déposé, dégagé ou rejeté, en tout ou en partie, des contaminants au sens de l’article 1 du Règlement sur la protection et la réhabilitation des terrains, ou qui en ont permis l’émission, le dépôt, le dégagement ou le rejet, n’ont pas été propriétaires du terrain, ne l’ont pas loué ou n’en ont pas eu la garde.

Retour en haut

Les projets admissibles

Pour être admissibles, les projets soumis doivent être réalisés à l’intérieur du périmètre d’urbanisation de la MRC, prévoir la réhabilitation d’un terrain dont la contamination dépasse les critères d’usage ou les valeurs limites réglementaires du Règlement sur la protection et la réhabilitation des terrains, respecter les lois et les règlements en vigueur au Québec ainsi que les conditions suivantes :

Volet 1 :

  • Viser la réalisation, sur le terrain réhabilité, de travaux permettant sa mise en valeur. Il peut s’agir de la construction, de la réfection majeure ou de l’agrandissement d’un édifice, d’un ouvrage ou d’un aménagement. Le but est de redonner au terrain l’usage auquel il était destiné ou de lui conférer une nouvelle fonction. Les constructions résidentielles, industrielles, commerciales ou à vocation institutionnelle ainsi que l’aménagement d’espaces ou d’infrastructures de services publics doivent s’inscrire dans une stratégie locale de développement durable;
  • Respecter les mesures de lutte contre les changements climatiques et les îlots de chaleur;

Volet 2 :

  • Soutenir une activité de nature commerciale ou industrielle. Les autres usages sont admissibles uniquement lorsqu’ils sont d’intérêt collectif. Dans le cas d’un projet collectif, le demandeur devra démontrer en quoi son projet contribuera au développement économique local;
  • Soutenir un projet d’investissement. Dans le cas d’un projet dans lequel aucun projet d’investissement n’est prévu, le demandeur devra présenter les arguments justifiant le caractère stratégique du terrain dans la concrétisation du plan d’urbanisme ou de tout autre document présentant la stratégie de développement économique adoptée par la municipalité comme zone à rénover ou à réhabiliter.

L’admissibilité des projets sera vérifiée par le Ministère. Les projets admissibles devront avoir préalablement reçu l’aval de la municipalité concernée.

Retour en haut

L'aide financière accordée dans le cadre du programme

Volet 1 – L’aide financière accordée sera de :

  • 50 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour le transport des sols contaminés qui seront traités à l’aide de technologies éprouvées et autorisées par le ministre;
  • 70 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour :
    • le traitement in situ des sols et des matériaux mélangés aux sols contaminés à l’aide de technologies éprouvées et autorisées par le ministre;
      et
    • le traitement in situ de l’eau souterraine à l’aide de technologies éprouvées et autorisées par le ministre;
  • 50 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour :
    • le traitement par enlèvement, sur le site ou hors site, des sols et des matériaux mélangés aux sols contaminés;
      et
    • le traitement de l’eau, sur le site ou hors site.
Toutefois, lorsqu’il s’agit d’un projet collectif tel que défini à la section 5 du cadre normatif, ce taux est de 70 %;
  • 50 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour le transport des sols contaminés excavés jusqu’au site de valorisation. Le transport est admissible uniquement pour les sols qui respectent les critères d’usage ou les valeurs limites réglementaires avant excavation ou pour les sols qui dépassaient le critère d’usage ou les valeurs limites réglementaires avant excavation mais qui ont été traités. Les options de valorisation doivent être acceptées par le ministre;
  • 30 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour le transport et l’élimination hors site des sols contaminés dont la contamination en métaux ne respecte pas les critères d’usage ou les valeurs limites réglementaires et pour laquelle aucune technologie de traitement n’est autorisée par le ministre;
  • 15 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour le transport et l’élimination hors site des sols contaminés dont la contamination ne respecte pas les critères d’usage ou les valeurs limites réglementaires;
  • 50 % des coûts admissibles pour les matériaux de support permettant la mise en place d’une végétalisation pérenne sur les murs extérieurs (aide maximale de 10 000 $). Toutefois, lorsqu’il s’agit d’un projet collectif tel que défini à la section 5, ce taux est de 70 %;
  • 50 % des coûts admissibles pour les composantes requises pour la mise en place du toit végétal pérenne (aide maximale de 50 000 $). Toutefois, lorsqu’il s’agit d’un projet collectif tel que défini à la section 5, ce taux est de 70 %;
  • 50 % des coûts du transport et de la valorisation* des matières résiduelles excavées du terrain et ségrégées lorsqu’elles sont mélangées aux sols contaminés. Les options de valorisation doivent être acceptées par le ministre;
  • 30 % des coûts du transport et de l’élimination des matières résiduelles excavées du terrain et ségrégées lorsqu’elles sont mélangées aux sols contaminés;
  • 50 % de tous les autres coûts admissibles.

Volet 2 – L’aide financière accordée sera de :

  • 50 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour le transport des sols contaminés qui seront traités à l’aide de technologies éprouvées et autorisées par le ministre;
  • 70 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour :
    • le traitement in situ des sols et des matériaux mélangés aux sols contaminés à l’aide de technologies éprouvées et autorisées par le ministre;
      et
    • le traitement in situ de l’eau souterraine à l’aide de technologies éprouvées et autorisées par le ministre;
  • 50 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour :
    • le traitement par enlèvement, sur le site ou hors site, des sols et des matériaux mélangés aux sols contaminés;
      et
    • le traitement de l’eau sur le site ou hors site.
Toutefois, lorsqu’il s’agit d’un projet collectif tel que défini à la section 5, ce taux est de 70 %;
  • 50 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour le transport des sols contaminés excavés jusqu’au site de valorisation. Le transport est admissible uniquement pour les sols qui respectent les critères d’usage ou les valeurs limites réglementaires avant excavation ou pour les sols qui ne respectent pas les critères d’usage ou les valeurs limites réglementaires avant excavation mais qui ont été traités. Les options de valorisation doivent être acceptées par le ministre;
  • 30 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour le transport et l’élimination hors site des sols contaminés dont la contamination en métaux ne respecte pas les critères d’usage ou les valeurs limites réglementaires et pour laquelle aucune technologie de traitement n’est autorisée par le ministre;
  • 15 % de tous les coûts admissibles pour le transport et l’élimination hors site des sols contaminés dont la contamination ne respecte pas les critères d’usage ou les valeurs limites réglementaires;
  • 50 % des coûts du transport et de la valorisation* des matières résiduelles excavées du terrain et ségrégées lorsqu’elles sont mélangées aux sols contaminés. Les options de valorisation doivent être acceptées par le ministre;
  • 30 % des coûts du transport et de l’élimination des matières résiduelles excavées du terrain et ségrégées lorsqu’elles sont mélangées aux sols contaminés;
  • 50 % de tous les autres coûts admissibles.

Pour les deux volets du programme ClimatSol‑Plus, l’aide financière maximale pour un projet est d’un million de dollars.

(*) Les options de valorisation subventionnées excluent le recours à des matières résiduelles comme matériau de recouvrement journalier dans un lieu d’enfouissement géré en vertu du Règlement sur l’enfouissement et l’incinération de matières résiduelles (REIMR).

Retour en haut

La présentation des demandes d'aide financière

Pour obtenir une aide financière dans le cadre du programme ClimatSol-Plus, le demandeur privé doit :

  • Remplir le formulaire de demande approprié (volet 1 ou 2) (voir la section « Documentation » ci-dessous);
  • Répondre aux critères d’admissibilité mentionnés dans le cadre normatif approprié (volet 1 ou 2) (voir la section « Documentation » ci-dessous);
  • Transmettre le formulaire dûment rempli et signé, en trois copies, à la municipalité concernée, accompagné des documents complémentaires exigés dans le cadre normatif.

Toutes les demandes d’aide, privées ou municipales, doivent être acheminées au Ministère par la municipalité concernée.

La prochaine date de tombée est le 2 février 2018. Les demandes doivent être reçues, au Ministère, avant 16 h (heure locale), à l’adresse suivante :

Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement

et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques

Pôle d’expertise régionale – Secteur industriel

201, place Charles-Le Moyne, 2étage

Longueuil (Québec)  J4K 2T5

Les demandes reçues après 16 h le 2 février 2018 seront considérées pour la date de tombée suivante, qui sera annoncée ultérieurement.

Comme les demandes doivent être vérifiées et approuvées par la municipalité, nous vous recommandons de communiquer avec la vôtre pour connaître le délai requis pour la présentation d’une demande afin de respecter la date de tombée du programme.

Retour en haut

Documentation

Volet 1 :

Volet 2 :

Retour en haut

Demandes de renseignements

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, communiquez avec le secrétariat du Pôle d’expertise régionale du secteur industriel du Ministère :

Courriel : climatsol-plus@mddelcc.gouv.qc.ca

Téléphone : 450 928-7607, poste 361

Adresse :
201, place Charles-Le Moyne, 2e étage
Longueuil (Québec)  J4K 2T5


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2017