Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs
Home Site Map Québec Portal E-Mail Search About the site Français

Québec Water Conservation and Efficiency Program

Useful links

Implementation of the Québec Water Conservation and Efficiency Program is consistent with the powers vested in the minister. These powers are specified in section 31.101 of the Environment Quality Act, which was introduced by section 19 of the Act to Affirm the Collective Nature of Water Resources and Provide for Increased Water Resource Protection.

It aims to ensure sustainable use of water resources throughout Québec and preserve the ecosystems that are dependant on them. To be sustainable, water withdrawals must not negatively affect ecosystems or conflict with other uses of water.

The Program enables the Government of Québec to meet one of the commitments it made as part of the Great Lakes – St. Lawrence River Basin Sustainable Water Resources Agreement. This agreement between Québec, Ontario and eight U.S. states bordering the Great Lakes – Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin – provides that each of the signatory provinces and states will implement a water conservation and efficiency program to improve the quantitative aspect of water management in the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River Basin.

The Program provides for implementing a number of measures to conserve water, use it efficiently and reduce waste in several sectors of activity in Québec.

  1. Definitions
  2. Program directions
  3. Territory covered
  4. Sectors of activity covered
  5. Departments involved

1. Definitions

The following definitions are to be taken into account in conjunction with the Program:

  • Conservation: Taking action to preserve the long-term quantity of water resources and, by extension, their quality.
  • Efficient use: Striving to accomplish tasks with a minimal amount of water by reducing losses and waste or by using processes, technologies or ways of doing things that require less water and that are environmentally friendly and economically feasible.

2. Program directions

3. Territory covered

The Program applies to all of Québec.

4. Sectors of activity covered

  • Public water supply
  • Self-supply commercial and institutional
  • Self-supply irrigation
  • Self-supply livestock
  • Self-supply industrial
  • Self supply thermoelectric power production
  • Off-stream hydroelectric power production
  • Other self-supply

5. Departments involved

   

Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail gouvernemental A propos du site Recherche English

Programme de conservation et d’utilisation efficace de l’eau du Québec

Liens utiles

La mise en œuvre du Programme de conservation et d’utilisation efficace de l’eau du Québec s’inscrit dans les pouvoirs dévolus au ministre. Ces pouvoirs sont précisés à l’article 31.101 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement, lequel a été introduit par l’article 19 de la Loi affirmant le caractère collectif des ressources en eau et visant à renforcer leur protection.

Il vise à assurer une utilisation durable des ressources en eau sur l’ensemble du territoire québécois et à préserver les écosystèmes qui en dépendent. Pour être durables, les prélèvements d’eau ne doivent pas affecter négativement les écosystèmes, ni entrer en conflit avec d’autres usages de l’eau.

Le Programme permet de respecter l’un des engagements pris par le gouvernement du Québec dans le cadre de l'Entente sur les ressources en eaux durables du bassin des Grands Lacs et du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Cette entente conclue entre le Québec, l’Ontario et huit États américains riverains des Grands Lacs, soit l’Illinois, l’Indiana, le Michigan, le Minnesota, New York, l’Ohio, la Pennsylvanie et le Wisconsin, prévoit que chacune des provinces et des États signataires mettra en œuvre un programme de conservation et d’utilisation efficace de l’eau afin d’améliorer l’aspect quantitatif de la gestion de l’eau dans le bassin des Grands Lacs et du fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Le Programme prévoit la mise en œuvre de plusieurs mesures dans le but de conserver l’eau, de l’utiliser efficacement et de diminuer le gaspillage dans plusieurs secteurs d’activité du Québec.

  1. Les définitions
  2. Les orientations du programme
  3. Le territoire visé
  4. Les secteurs d’activité visés
  5. Les ministères impliqués

1. Définitions

Voici les définitions à prendre en compte dans le cadre du Programme :

  • Conservation : Agir afin de préserver à long terme la quantité des ressources en eau et, par extension, leur qualité.
  • Utilisation efficace : Chercher à accomplir une tâche à l’aide d’une quantité minimale d’eau en réduisant les pertes et le gaspillage ou encore en employant des procédés, des technologies ou des façons de faire qui requièrent moins d’eau tout en étant respectueuses de l’environnement et économiquement réalisables.

2. Les orientations du programme

3. Le territoire visé

Le Programme s’applique à l’ensemble du territoire du Québec.

4. Les secteurs d’activité visés

  • L’approvisionnement public en eau
  • L’auto-approvisionnement commercial et institutionnel
  • L’auto-approvisionnement à des fins d’irrigation
  • L’auto approvisionnement à des fins d’élevage
  • L’auto-approvisionnement industriel
  • L’auto-approvisionnement pour la production d’énergie thermoélectrique
  • La production d’hydroélectricité hors des cours d’eau
  • L’auto-approvionnnement à d’autres fins

5. Les ministères impliqués


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2017